Dishwasher Install - No Room in Panel

Old 11-02-13, 03:04 PM
Dishwasher Install - No Room in Panel

First post here - I appreciate any help given. I have some basic electrical knowledge, have taken out permits and done my own - just have never done much with the actual panel.
I have a FPE Stab-lok panel which is currently full.
I would like to install a dishwasher (which requires a dedicated 20A circuit)
What are my options?
Current breakers (not sure if this is important) 1 @ 40 A Double Pole
1 @ 30 A Double Pole
1 @ 25 A Double Pole
3 @ 20 A Double Pole
3 @ 15 A Double Pole
6 @ 15 A Single Pole

Couple pics included just because.

Thanks!

Attached Images   
Sponsored Links
Old 11-02-13, 03:12 PM
Also - In Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Old 11-02-13, 04:01 PM
Group Moderator
It would appear your panel is surface mounted so it should be easy to add a subpanel. Not important to your question but is your picture rotated ninety degrees?

Attachment 20416

Last edited by ray2047; 11-02-13 at 04:31 PM.
Old 11-02-13, 04:23 PM
Group Moderator
Not important to your question but is your picture rotated ninety degrees?
I have seen quite a few shows that are based in Canada with panels sideways with no mention that it is wrong. It is not allowed in the US (without rendering half the panel useless) but I think it may be OK in Canada.

Last edited by ray2047; 11-02-13 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Correct typo in quote from my post.
Old 11-02-13, 04:33 PM
Group Moderator
Perhaps also should be added that comments here about U.S. FPE panels don't necessarily apply to FPE panels made in Canada from what I have read.

Old 11-02-13, 05:44 PM
It would appear your panel is surface mounted so it should be easy to add a subpanel. Not important to your question but is your picture rotated ninety degrees?