Quick Cable Location Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-03-13, 05:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 62
Quick Cable Location Question

Fixing up some walls and a doorway. Previous homeowner ran a cable through the door frame, as you can see in the pictures.

I need to move it, and am wondering if anybody sees any problem with me running a new cable through the studs above the door frame? Specifically wondering about the studs that are angled. Can i treat them the same as other studs, with regard to passing a cable through?

Thanks. Name:  20131103_163655.jpg
Views: 110
Size:  31.9 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-03-13, 05:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,114
Yes....you can drill them the same as regular beams. Those are pretty heavy and will be a treat to drill.
 
  #3  
Old 11-03-13, 05:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
Just use a 3/4"-7/8" hole centered and you should be fine. The new cable will have to run all the way from the lsst box before the door to the first box after the door unless you use permanently accessible Jboxes.
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-13, 06:09 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
No problem drilling above the door.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes