Quick Cable Location Question


  #1  
Old 11-03-13, 04:26 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 58
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Quick Cable Location Question

Fixing up some walls and a doorway. Previous homeowner ran a cable through the door frame, as you can see in the pictures.

I need to move it, and am wondering if anybody sees any problem with me running a new cable through the studs above the door frame? Specifically wondering about the studs that are angled. Can i treat them the same as other studs, with regard to passing a cable through?

Thanks. Name:  20131103_163655.jpg
Views: 174
Size:  31.9 KB
 
  #2  
Old 11-03-13, 04:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,935
Received 4,140 Upvotes on 3,718 Posts
Yes....you can drill them the same as regular beams. Those are pretty heavy and will be a treat to drill.
 
  #3  
Old 11-03-13, 04:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Just use a 3/4"-7/8" hole centered and you should be fine. The new cable will have to run all the way from the lsst box before the door to the first box after the door unless you use permanently accessible Jboxes.
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-13, 05:09 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,004
Received 206 Upvotes on 179 Posts
No problem drilling above the door.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: