New bath exhaust fan wiring questions


  #1  
Old 11-04-13, 08:27 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New bath exhaust fan wiring questions

Everyone here was so helpful and informative with my last posts (thanks again), that I'm back for some more help.

I purchased a NuTone basic exhaust fan and have a couple of questions about wiring it.

I have an empty 15 amp breaker in my panel and attached to it is a coil of 100' of 14/2 romex, the end of which is in a junction box in the basement (the breaker is taped in the off postion). This was left for future needs.

I was wondering if:

(1) this breaker and gauge of wire are suitable for installing the NuTone 696FN exhaust fan. It will be dedicated only for this purpose.

(2) do I wire from the panel to the switch then to the fan? or...

(3) ...from the panel to the fan and then to the switch?

Thanks in advance for any help. I'm sure I'll be back with more questions, along with some diagrams to help me visualize your responses.

Fran
 
  #2  
Old 11-04-13, 08:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
(1) this breaker and gauge of wire are suitable for installing the NuTone 696FN exhaust fan. It will be dedicated only for this purpose.
Yes, that would be fine.
(2) do I wire from the panel to the switch then to the fan? or...
That is the best because you are now required to have a neutral in the switch box.

I'd suggest you run 14-3 from switch to light as future proofing should you ever want a fan with light.
 
  #3  
Old 11-04-13, 08:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,993
Received 4,153 Upvotes on 3,730 Posts
You could certainly use that circuit to power the fan with plenty of left over capacity. That fan only draws 1amp.

The junction boxes on those fans is on the small side. It would be easier to run the feed to the switch and then another line from the switch to the fan.



(stereo responses)
 
  #4  
Old 11-04-13, 10:05 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What type of switch do I use?
 
  #5  
Old 11-04-13, 10:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Just a regular "light" switch or you could use a timer..
 
  #6  
Old 11-04-13, 11:22 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'm a little confused, I always work better with pictures.

So, I have the black, white and ground wires comming from the panel. They go to the switch.

The black, white and ground wires from the switch connect to the black, white and ground wires of the fan motor.

I guess what I'm missing is how the wires are connected at the switch???

...help? diagrams??

Fran
 
  #7  
Old 11-05-13, 12:07 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 189
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Switch for fan

Hot (120V)--------------Switch-------------------------fan motor
White (GCC)-------------------------------------------- fan motor
Bare (ground)---------switch---------------------------fan motor
The 15amp single-pole switch goes in series with the Hot (120V) from your breaker and then to the fan motor. The grounded circuit conductor (white) splices through the switch box and goes to the fan motor. The ground goes from the panel to the switch ground terminal and splices through the switch box and goes to the fan motor ground terminal.
 

Last edited by bahtah; 11-05-13 at 12:10 AM. Reason: forgot ground
  #8  
Old 11-05-13, 05:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Here is a rough diagram. Grounds not shown. If metal box grounds connected together and pigtailed to box. Optional but recommended also pigtailed to switch. If box plastic grounds connected together and must be pigtailed to switch.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 1188
Size:  15.0 KB
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-13, 03:13 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you Ray and bahtah. I think i understand now. Is my attached pic correct?
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 11-05-13, 03:22 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7,458
Upvotes: 0
Received 6 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Is my attached pic correct?
Yes. I would install a timer rather than an on/off switch.
 
  #11  
Old 11-05-13, 03:53 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Would the wiring of a timer differ from the single-pole switch wiring?
 
  #12  
Old 11-05-13, 03:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Would the wiring of a timer differ from the single-pole switch wiring?
If it has a neutral then the neutral wire will go to the neutral. Other then that it will be the same.
 
  #13  
Old 11-05-13, 06:47 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 24
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you everyone for your quick input and assistance. Once again, it was a pleasure comming to this site for guidance.

Cheers,
Fran
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: