wire a 3 way switch to outlet.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-13, 11:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
wire a 3 way switch to outlet.

I am trying to re-wire a box. Originally it had a 3 way switch and a regular switch. The 3 way controlled an outside light over the garage door. The other switch controlled the light on the inside of the garage. I installed a garage door opener which gets it power from elsewhere. The switch for the inside light is now tied off. I want change the the wiring now to put an outlet where the switch was. I looked at the wiring and it seems very confusing. There are 10 wires in the box! Rather than try to explain the wiring I have attached a photo.

How do you hook it up?

ListerMint
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-09-13, 06:05 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Your 3 way switch will not have anything to do with the receptacle's operation. You need to determine which black wires are hot. The "unknown" wires are your neutrals, and necessary for connecting the receptacle. You will pigtail off this pair to the silver screw on the receptacle. Once you have determined which black is hot, you will install a pigtail from it to the receptacle as well. What are your plans for the "power source"? Is it an active pair, meaning hot/neutral?
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-13, 08:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
I thought I would tap into the "power source for the garage door". There is a black and a white wire twisted together. When I separate the two I lose power to the garage door. Can I assume that they are both hot and both of them should be considered black? If so, then I would pigtail into there?
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-13, 08:21 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
There is a black and a white wire twisted together. When I separate the two I lose power to the garage door. Can I assume that they are both hot and both of them should be considered black? If so, then I would pigtail into there?
The only time a black and white wire gets spliced together would be in the case of a switch loop. Is your garage door power on a switch?
 
  #5  
Old 11-09-13, 08:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
The only time a black and white wire gets spliced together would be in the case of a switch loop.
I wonder if the white is the common on a 3-way? Back to you Joe. I can't tell from the photo.
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-13, 08:41 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
I can't tell either. It's difficult to figure these things out when you cannot see everything nor can you do "hand's on" diagnosis.

There is a black and a white wire twisted together. When I separate the two I lose power to the garage door.
I don't see anything like that.
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-13, 10:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Sorry about the pictures. I took some more. Maybe these will help.
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 11-09-13, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Forgot to address the inset I added. The black box the garage door opener.
 
  #9  
Old 11-09-13, 10:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
Is the white that is connected to the black fron the 3-conductor cable. Looks like it.

Name:  switch.jpg
Views: 1095
Size:  51.1 KB

Is there a white connected to the common at the other 3-way switch?
 
  #10  
Old 11-09-13, 10:41 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
If we can get this figured out the OP is going to need to add an extension ring to the box and GFI protection for the receptacle.
 
  #11  
Old 11-09-13, 12:34 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
Is the white that is connected to the black fron the 3-conductor cable. Looks like it.
I'm not so sure ray. I am now thinking the power to the door opener was previously switched and now has been wire nutted to provide 24/7 power with no switch. I don't think it is related to the 3-way switch at all and that the 1900 box originally had one single pole and one 3-way switch. Read post #1 again.

Originally it had a 3 way switch and a regular switch. The 3 way controlled an outside light over the garage door. The other switch controlled the light on the inside of the garage. I installed a garage door opener which gets it power from elsewhere. The switch for the inside light is now tied off.
Yes, he got power from somewhere else for the door opener alright, he probably got it from the ceiling box that used to be controlled by the single pole switch and that is why he states the switch is now tied off.

I see another 12-2 cable, the black goes to the common on the 3-way switch. I wonder if this is power to the 3-way switch circuit or if it is the switchleg? The two whites with the red wing nut would be the neutral to the light controlled by the 3-way switch.
 
  #12  
Old 11-09-13, 01:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Thank you for your help. I figured it out. I used the black from the pair that black and white twisted together. It is the power for the door opener. I don't understand what it is doing all by itself. It is not in any Romex. However it is power and it lit up the outlet just fine. I don't know what the white in that pair is for. I just capped it. Everything works like it supposed to. I tested the switch and the outlet with a tester and it tested normal. Now to put all that mess back in the box. I will probably have to get a different extension ring. Pretty tight in there.

BTW, CasualJoe, you are right. There was a switch there. It was disabled when the garage door was installed. I wanted an outlet instead of a switch.

Once again, thanks.
 
  #13  
Old 11-09-13, 04:04 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
Does the garage door opener still work?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'