Running Exterior Light off Receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-11-13, 05:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Running Exterior Light off Receptacle

Hello,
Finally decided I would like to hook up a light to light up the side yard. I have picked up this one: EL Eternalume

Anyway, I have a receptacle under the eve of my garage and my only option is to take power from this receptacle. How do I go about this? I need one plug to stay to plug in block heater on tractor, or should I install a switch/receptacle combination and hook the light up to the switch?
Thanks for the help

PS: My neighbor says just cut the end off an extension cord and then plug the light in-- something tells me thats against code.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-11-13, 05:41 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
This may differ with the NEC, but the CEC requires a dedicated outlet for your block heater.
Do you have attic access to any lighting boxes you could tie into?
If so I would check for power to one of the lighting boxes and tie into that for constant power, then install a photocell for the new light.
Or if you have other receptacles on the circuit with the receptacle in question, you're already not supposed to plug in to it so you could run your light off of it.
 
  #3  
Old 11-11-13, 05:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
You could mount an extension ring on the existing box if it is flush and from the extension ring run PVC conduit to a surface box at the bottom of the light. Your receptacle would be remounted in the extension ring. A switch is not normally used with that type of light.

My neighbor says just cut the end off an extension cord and then plug the light in-- something tells me thats against code.
Good instincts, bad neighbor.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-13, 04:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
The only lights are inside the building and the plug in question is the only thing on that side of the building (outside) that has power. Hmmm... If I had to run a new wire, I'd have do go up through attic since the panel is on the opposite corner of the garage. And a low slope roof... is that my only option
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-13, 03:58 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
I'd say those are your easiest options. If your panel is surface mounted you may be able to run pipe out of it, outside, and underground or along the exterior of the building.
If the plug is dedicated, don't run the light off of it as it is currently code compliant to plug your tractor into.
If it is not dedicated, run the the light off of it and stop plugging your tractor into it.
Either way, it looks like you're running new wire for either a light or a dedicated plug.
You could always use this opportunity to run a couple new plugs around the perimeter too.
 
  #6  
Old 11-14-13, 06:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Will probably have to end up getting in the attic of my garage (3.5/12 pitched roof with finished ceiling) and running a wire from one corner to the other--down through the top wall plate into the panel and out through the soffit on the other side. Oh well... gotta do what ya gotta do!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes