Sconce mount too small. Junction box showing.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-13, 05:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sconce mount too small. Junction box showing.

I have an issue with a Eurofase sconce I am installing. The electrician installed a standard 1-gang junction box, but the sconce mount doesn't not cover the entire junction box. I have other sconces by the same manufacturer where we used the same junction boxes and did not have the same issue. Replacing this junction box with a round one really isn't an option since I already wallpapered the area. I guess my questions is; is there some sort of trim kit I can use? Or maybe there is another option I am not aware of.

Photo attached Name:  IMG_5331.jpg
Views: 980
Size:  29.1 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-14-13, 05:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,606
Received 7 Votes on 7 Posts
Trim Kits

Junction boxes must be installed flush with the wall surface for a trim kit to work.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-13, 07:24 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Bottom line wrong box. It should have been octagon or round. Even the screw size for a switch box is wrong. Do you not have enough wall paper left and can't buy a new roll just to repaper that area?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: