Sconce mount too small. Junction box showing.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-14-13, 05:38 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sconce mount too small. Junction box showing.

I have an issue with a Eurofase sconce I am installing. The electrician installed a standard 1-gang junction box, but the sconce mount doesn't not cover the entire junction box. I have other sconces by the same manufacturer where we used the same junction boxes and did not have the same issue. Replacing this junction box with a round one really isn't an option since I already wallpapered the area. I guess my questions is; is there some sort of trim kit I can use? Or maybe there is another option I am not aware of.

Photo attached Name:  IMG_5331.jpg
Views: 1059
Size:  29.1 KB
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-13, 05:56 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,750
Received 29 Votes on 26 Posts
Trim Kits

Junction boxes must be installed flush with the wall surface for a trim kit to work.
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-13, 07:24 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Bottom line wrong box. It should have been octagon or round. Even the screw size for a switch box is wrong. Do you not have enough wall paper left and can't buy a new roll just to repaper that area?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: