Questions for the pro's and homeowners

Old 11-09-13, 09:33 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Questions for the pro's and homeowners

Hi!

I'm new to the forums. I have a few questions. My parents bought a house 5 yrs ago. The inspectors came, and it was all dandy. House was bought and we were all happy. I am an architecture student and upon doing my internship, i came back to see what my parents wanted to do with their basement. I designed something pretty livable and when i went to check the conditions of everything, I found that 3prong outlets were everywhere. So, I thought the house was fine. Upon checking everything, I opened up this old service panel which is a split-bus and I found some wires old NM wires, both the clothed versions NM with no ground and some newer NM with ground(No NM-B romex).
And What I was looking at is pretty much a mess. Upon tracing the wires, I asked my father if he had done anything to the house and he said no. We found out that the three-prong outlets were installed incorrectly(I don't know how it passed inspection) and the landscape lighting breaker was pulled leaving wires exposed within the service panel.

My question is, How much would it cost to replace it? Am i really fine with this setup? Should i leave it untouched? I want recessed lights but theyre 90C and I need new romex for that which is not what i'll find here. All lighting in the basement is with the old wiring. Can I just fish wires throughout the first floor(I only need for the living room and dining on the first floor) and Install new romex for the basement?

Am I looking at a hacked job that somehow passed inspection or is this a fine looking wiring job? Here is the service panel:

Name:  IMG_1325-1.jpg
Views: 1076
Size:  47.1 KB

Old 11-09-13, 11:16 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,951 Upvotes on 3,544 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes....how did it pass inspection without grounds on a three prong receptacle.