trying to replace an outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-18-13, 02:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St. Louis area
Posts: 44
trying to replace an outlet

100 year old house with many wiring issues. I used a receptacle, located in the floor, that I had not used before. When I went to unplug, the entire thing came up: it was just wiring connected to the receptacle. No box, nothing holding the thing down. So I went to the basement to shut off the power and take a look. There was three inches of aluminum stranded wire pigtailed to aluminum wire in a metal sheath, which went to a junction box where there are 4 or 5 other wires coming in. They are old two stranded copper wires. I have some new 14/2 that I can replace the aluminum with, but want to know what to do with the neutral when I hook it up at the junction box.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-18-13, 02:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St. Louis area
Posts: 44
Oh, and the junction box is metal, if that matters. I have some extra metal boxes for the receptacle - can I use one of those?
 
  #3  
Old 11-18-13, 02:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,468
There are many different types of floor plates. Can you shoot and post a picture for us ?

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #4  
Old 11-18-13, 03:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
It would be very unusual to have stranded aluminum conductors on a small branch circuit.

You are going to need to add a floor rated device box for the receptacle along with some wiring changes.
 
  #5  
Old 11-18-13, 04:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,468
I don't think he has aluminum. It sounds like BX cable with the old silver plated copper wires.

White to white and black to black. You may need a meter or voltage checker to figure out which wire is white and which is black in the junction box.

The bare wire of your RX will go to a ground screw in the junction box.
 
  #6  
Old 11-18-13, 05:46 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
It sounds like BX cable with the old silver plated copper wires.
It might be tinned copper wire, but I seriously doubt any of them are silver plated.

It actually sounds to me more like old knob & tube than BX. The old K&T was installed many times with no device boxes, The devices were screwed to the wood lath.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'