Putting existing switched light on a different switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-13, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 335
Putting existing switched light on a different switch?

I have a set of can lights that are on 3 way switches. They can be controlled from location 1 and location 2. I also have a single light on a fan in the same room. However, it is on a regular switch, switched only from its own location. However, the three way switch for the can lights at location 2 are in the same box as teh switch for the fan light. Can the fan light be wired up to come on with the three way switches and the rest of the can lights?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-19-13, 03:58 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
Maybe. Do you know if the switch leg for the cans are in the same box as the switch leg for the fan light? We need you to open up the boxes, remove the switches and let us know what you find.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-13, 05:04 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

I also have a single light on a fan in the same room. However, it is on a regular switch, switched only from its own location.
Does that switch control both the fan motor and the light, or just the light?
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-13, 05:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 335
The light and fan are switched separately. Just didnt know if I could pigtail it somehow off of the three way switches or if it will require some sort of RF solution.

Do you know if the switch leg for the cans are in the same box as the switch leg for the fan light?

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...#ixzz2lC9FCrAt
Thats a good question. I am upgrading the 3 way switches to dimmers and one has to go on the 'hot side', so let me determine that and get those installed, and then Ill see if I can tell what is what.
 

Last edited by agdodge4x4; 11-20-13 at 06:19 AM.
  #5  
Old 11-20-13, 07:28 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The light and fan are switched separately.
Then you may be - should be - able to add that light to the 3-way control.

I am upgrading the 3 way switches to dimmers and one has to go on the 'hot side',
What is "the 'hot side'"?
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-13, 10:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 335
I meant one set of switches is "line". It was addressed in my other thread about my dimmers.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'