Putting existing switched light on a different switch?


  #1  
Old 11-19-13, 11:54 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 418
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Putting existing switched light on a different switch?

I have a set of can lights that are on 3 way switches. They can be controlled from location 1 and location 2. I also have a single light on a fan in the same room. However, it is on a regular switch, switched only from its own location. However, the three way switch for the can lights at location 2 are in the same box as teh switch for the fan light. Can the fan light be wired up to come on with the three way switches and the rest of the can lights?
 
  #2  
Old 11-19-13, 03:58 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,476
Received 912 Upvotes on 770 Posts
Maybe. Do you know if the switch leg for the cans are in the same box as the switch leg for the fan light? We need you to open up the boxes, remove the switches and let us know what you find.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-13, 05:04 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7,458
Upvotes: 0
Received 6 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I also have a single light on a fan in the same room. However, it is on a regular switch, switched only from its own location.
Does that switch control both the fan motor and the light, or just the light?
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-13, 05:51 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 418
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
The light and fan are switched separately. Just didnt know if I could pigtail it somehow off of the three way switches or if it will require some sort of RF solution.

Do you know if the switch leg for the cans are in the same box as the switch leg for the fan light?

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...#ixzz2lC9FCrAt
Thats a good question. I am upgrading the 3 way switches to dimmers and one has to go on the 'hot side', so let me determine that and get those installed, and then Ill see if I can tell what is what.
 

Last edited by agdodge4x4; 11-20-13 at 06:19 AM.
  #5  
Old 11-20-13, 07:28 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7,458
Upvotes: 0
Received 6 Upvotes on 5 Posts
The light and fan are switched separately.
Then you may be - should be - able to add that light to the 3-way control.

I am upgrading the 3 way switches to dimmers and one has to go on the 'hot side',
What is "the 'hot side'"?
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-13, 10:38 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 418
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
I meant one set of switches is "line". It was addressed in my other thread about my dimmers.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: