Connecting cables to a two-port Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-22-13, 10:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Connecting cables to a two-port Switch

Greetings

I want to connect this switch to a lamp cable (European 230 V). It's a two port switch, which I think is good. I just wonder what the third connection (to the left in the picture) is for. Is that for ground cable? The lamp unfortunately doesn't have a ground cable, so I guess I should just leave it empty then?

Also, any suggestions how to avoid "gaps" (I think that's the English word, I mean that the cable is not 100% conected, but when you move the cable the circuit breaks on and off with the movement) in the connections? I've heard that "gaps" can be a safety issue.

Please give me some advice, thanks /Teszla
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-22-13, 11:59 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
This is primarily a North American forum. I have never seen a switch like that and doubt many here will be familiar with it. I believe by two port you mean two pole but most European power 220 power systems have one earthed conductor (neutral) and one un earthed conductor. In the U.S. you never switch the neutral so why a 2-pole switch if it is the same where you are. As to the third set of contacts they certainly look like a ground connection.
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-13, 04:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,230
That looks like a switch designed to switch two devices.

Name:  DSC_0002.jpg
Views: 144
Size:  27.1 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes