split 20a receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-27-13, 11:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
split 20a receptacle

Hi, I want to install a new plug for my 2 treadmills. The treadmills are 120v, 20a. I was planning on running 12/3 bx to a 120v 20a receptacle and splitting it. Would be using a 2-pole 20a breaker as well. Is there anything wrong with this? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-27-13, 12:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Please respond guys, need to varify this is correct
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-13, 12:15 PM
canuk's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 293
Providing you do remove the bridge between the 2 hot terminals on the receptacle and use a 2 pole common trip 20 amp breaker you should be good to go.
 
  #4  
Old 11-27-13, 12:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Well aware of that. I'm concerned of running both treadmills at the same time at full load
 
  #5  
Old 11-27-13, 12:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
I'm concerned of running both treadmills at the same time at full load
Why? Each would be on a separate circuit. What is the actual amp draw?
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-13, 12:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Brain fart. Seperate phases so the neutral only sees 1phase current at a time. Thx for responses
 
  #7  
Old 11-27-13, 01:20 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
You will need to use a 20 amp duplex. A 15 amp duplex does not meet the code.

If this is in an unfinished basement you need GFI protection.
 
  #8  
Old 11-27-13, 01:54 PM
canuk's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 293
Well aware of that. I'm concerned of running both treadmills at the same time at full load
Ah --- you weren't clear of that in your orginal question. If there was an issue it would have been pointed out in the responce.
 
  #9  
Old 11-27-13, 02:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
The neutral only carries the difference between the two hots. If both drew 16 amps then the load on the neutral would be 16-16=0. Even with only one running and again assuming 16 amps you would have 16-0=16 amps on the neutral.
 
  #10  
Old 11-27-13, 04:57 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
The treadmills are 120v, 20a.
Is 20 amps the circuit manufacturer's recommendation or is 20 amps the full load amps?
 
  #11  
Old 10-24-15, 09:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 665
Ray 2047
Assuming both treadmills are on at the same time, why are the 2 load currents not returning to the power source via the path of least resistance, the wire connected to neutral?
 
  #12  
Old 10-24-15, 11:13 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
All paths should be the same resistance.
 
  #13  
Old 10-24-15, 01:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
A multi-wire branch circuit has the hots on opposite legs of the panel. The neutral is carrying thee current back to the panel. It is the difference of current between the hots, not the sum.
 
  #14  
Old 10-24-15, 06:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 327
If your area uses the NEC, take note of 210.4(B) and 300.13(B).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes