Another drum switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-28-13, 06:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Post Another drum switch

I have the same drum switch but my motor is a six wire not colored but labeled. on 1 line I have T1 T3 AND T8 on the other line I have T2 T4 AND T5 I am trying to figure out how to wire this to the drum switch. Any help would be appreciated.
 

Last edited by joegmurph; 11-28-13 at 07:00 AM. Reason: mispelling
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-28-13, 07:01 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Welcome to the forums!

Just to keep things neat and tidy I have moved your post to its own thread. That way we won't get confused with the other thread info and your info.

What motor do you have? Is there a wiring diagram? Some times it is on the inside of the wiring compartment of the motor.

Switch diagram:
Name:  RS1A_diagram.jpg
Views: 770
Size:  35.6 KB
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-13, 07:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
drum switch

it is a rockwell motor made by leeson the # i have is C6C17FB12A D77. I have pics but i do not know how to post them. Thanks
Joe
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-13, 07:05 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Here's how:

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

Is this on a drill press? Is the number off the machine or the motor itself? Do you want it to reverse the rotation of the motor?
 
  #5  
Old 11-28-13, 07:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
  #6  
Old 11-28-13, 07:11 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Nope. Try again. You can also upload them to a hosting site like Photobucket and then link them here.
 
  #7  
Old 11-28-13, 07:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Lathe

Tolyn, it is off a lathe. I would like to reverse the motor for sanding.
 
  #8  
Old 11-28-13, 07:17 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Those are links to your email not pictures. Notice they don't end in an image file format such as, JPEG, JPG, PNG, GIF, BMP. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #9  
Old 11-28-13, 07:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Pics



 
  #10  
Old 11-28-13, 07:24 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
You are using the low voltage wiring correct?

What is the note on the top? I see "CCW rotation facing XXXX XXX interchange leads T3 and TX for CW"
 
  #11  
Old 11-28-13, 07:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Toyln

Yes i am using 110v the note says interchange t5 and t8 cw rotation.
 
  #12  
Old 11-28-13, 07:42 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
I don't really know which is the proper "forward" rotation you will just have to try this. If it is wrong (forward is reverse, reverse is forward) Just interchange wires 5 and 8

Switch Terminals:
1) wires 1 & 3
2) line (hot or neutral)
3) wire 5
4) wire 8
5) Wires 2 and 4
6) line (hot or neutral)
 
  #13  
Old 11-28-13, 07:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Thanks Tolyn, just to be clear i have a pic of the drum switch diagram. if I am in the wrong direction it should be easy enough.

 
  #14  
Old 11-28-13, 08:02 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Yup. That looks lovely.
 
  #15  
Old 11-28-13, 09:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Worked like a charm. Had to switch t5 and t8 like you said I might, but it is finally up and running.
I wish I had found this forum 2 days ago, but it was worth it. Enjoy some turkey today and have a happy thanksgiving.
Joe
 
  #16  
Old 11-28-13, 09:48 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Very nice! Thanks for the update.
 
  #17  
Old 03-08-14, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
New motor with different wiring

I just replaced the motor on this lathe, the new motor has a different wiring diagram, but my drum switch is the same. I have tried to wire this but I don't want to fry the motor. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Joe
 
Attached Images   
  #18  
Old 03-08-14, 11:48 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Welcome back! You burned up the motor?

New connections:
P1 to neutral (not connected to switch)
Switch 1 = Hot and T4
Switch 2 = T2
Switch 3 = T5
Switch 4 = T8
Switch 5 = P2
Switch 6 = T3

Again, if rotation is not correct, interchange T5 and T8.
 
  #19  
Old 03-08-14, 12:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Thanks Tolyn,
don't know if this matters but P1 and P2 go thru a reset switch on the motor:

no I didn't burn it out but the motor bearing is on it's way and starting to squeal. I figured I would keep the motor and change the bearing later. However, I want to sell this next week to get a bigger lathe.
Thanks again
Joe
 
  #20  
Old 03-08-14, 12:31 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
The reset is for the overload protection on the motor. That shouldn't matter.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'