Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

30 amp 220V on 10/3 - need to split into 2 - 15 amp - 110v receptials in shed.

30 amp 220V on 10/3 - need to split into 2 - 15 amp - 110v receptials in shed.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-28-13, 01:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Question 30 amp 220V on 10/3 - need to split into 2 - 15 amp - 110v receptials in shed.

I currently have a single 30 amp 220V circuit on 10/3 wire (3 plus Ground) that terminates out in my shed and I need to split it out into 2 - 15 Amp – 110v receptacles each having a GFI outlet.

The questions I have are:
1. Can I use the white/Neutral in the existing cabling for both GFI outlets and split out each leg of the power side (Red and Black) to the GFI’s?

2. or do I need to install a 2 breaker junction box then split it out?

If I look at the diagrams for a small junction box and doing it with out, they appear to be the same diagram.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-28-13, 02:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
Welcome to the forums.

Yes...you will share the neutral between the receptacles but a 2 circuit breaker box would be the best way to handle the job. You'd put in two single 15A breakers.

You'd also need to pick up a small ground bar for that breaker box.
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-13, 02:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,048
If you did it without a breaker box the breaker would have to be reduced to 20 amps because general purpose 120v circuits can not be greater then 20 amps.
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-13, 04:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,096
I would suggest a 4 or 6 circuit breaker box (subpanel) out in the shed for future expansion capability. The breaker for the circuit back at the main panel would stay as 30 amps. You could install just two 15 or 20 amp breakers in the subpanel for now.
 
  #5  
Old 11-28-13, 07:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,279
I agree with the others. Adding a small sub panel would be a good option and would only add $30 for a panel and a ground rod.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes