Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Dinky Generator, Fridge compressor stalls it, don't want to buy a new one

Dinky Generator, Fridge compressor stalls it, don't want to buy a new one

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-13, 09:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Dinky Generator, Fridge compressor stalls it, don't want to buy a new one

When my power goes out...what can I put between the generator and fridge that will help kick on the compressor so the generator won't stall.

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-13, 09:08 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
What size gen? Make and model?

What is the watts of the fridge?

Depends how close you are....
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-13, 09:12 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
It says 1200 continuous and it used to be able to handle it. Last storm I had to let it run half an hour before plugging in. Even then it was touch and go. So pretty close.
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-13, 09:15 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,750
Welcome to our forums!

Easy answer.
A bigger generator.

If it stalls you must have a very small gen.
Fridges will normally operate on 15 amps cct which would be about 1800 watts.
A 2000 watt gen would be about the smallest unit, 2500 would be better.

Edit:


With a complete story it might be a generator tune up that is needed or the fridge compressor may be on its way out.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-13, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks GregH. There are a lot of great forums here. Also looking at refitting an old jeep to make it electric only. That's another story.

Any other ideas though. Maybe an in-line battery or capacitor of sorts?
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-13, 09:35 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
You have two 15 amp outlets?

You are trying to start the gen on one winding which would be 600 watts if a 1200 watt gen...

Dont know if they make a Y adapter to take advantage of both windings...
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-13, 09:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
There isn't anything that you can put inline to store power.

If you were working with DC you could use a battery.
With AC you would need a capacitor the size of a car......and that would be many times more expensive then just getting a larger generator.

If the generator only has 120vac receptacles then usually it won't have a split winding where you could obtain 240vac. That means that both receptacles are in parallel.
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-13, 09:51 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Whats the make and model of gen? Just for my own curiosity....
 
  #9  
Old 12-01-13, 10:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
APG 3014 - like I said...used to be able to do it. I've heard you can co-power a car with a generator to get the extra miles if needed. There should be a similar solution for kicking on a fridge compressor....right?
 
  #10  
Old 12-01-13, 10:04 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,750
Again, a new generator is what you really need, but.....
In theory, if you replace the compressor starting relay with one with a capacitor, the starting current will be slightly lower and a faster start would allow the gen to recover quicker.

Nice to see someone is trying to get by on a modest generator.
We normally get people asking about running multiple a/c's and a whirlpool tub during a power outage.
 
  #11  
Old 12-01-13, 11:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 85
I use a power meter and a web-site that graphs watts. My older refrigerator compressor draws 150 running watts, the newer one 100 watts, but the start-up spike is about 1400 watts additional. That 1200 watt generator, if getting a little tired, is under-rated even if it worked when newer.

Edit: I looked at some advertised 1200 watt gensets and saw that most are actually peak 1200 watts, 1000 watts continuous. You really need a bigger generator. They are pretty cheap right now with Cyber Monday on-line shopping.
 
  #12  
Old 12-01-13, 12:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
I think if you try to continue with this generator you are looking at possibly a new refrigerator and a new generator. You are making both work too hard on startup.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes