ground wire connections

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-13, 12:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USa
Posts: 2
ground wire connections

I've been researching how to wire up my meter to my main panel, then to a sub panel.

One thing I am unsure of is that with the larger wires for my grounding between the panels and ground rods etc, what is the recommended way to attach these wires together at junctions? Wire nut? Some other device?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-13, 12:14 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
The GEC between the panel and the ground rods and water lines needs to be continuous. There should be connections on the bus bar that will accept up to a #4 without an adapter.
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-13, 12:19 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! You will wire your meter base to the main panel and the subpanel from the main panel, not from the meter base. You will run at least a #6 bare wire from your grounding rod to the middle of the meter base and from there into your main panel. Be sure to check with your local authority having jurisdiction for any variations they may have.
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-13, 12:25 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
To expand on the reason you need to check is that some power companies do not allow grounding to take place in the meter socket. It must be done in the service panel.
 
  #5  
Old 12-01-13, 12:44 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
That's true, Jim. One municipality close to here requires the grounding electrode to run from the rod, through the meter base central lug and on up to the service entrance in one piece. Go figure.
 
  #6  
Old 12-01-13, 01:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
Much easier to check before finding out what you installed doesn't fly and the effort is wasted.
 
  #7  
Old 12-01-13, 05:12 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,982
The wire to a supplemental ground, such as a ground rod, is not required to be larger than #6 copper, regardless of the service size.
 
  #8  
Old 12-01-13, 06:34 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Much easier to check before finding out what you installed doesn't fly and the effort is wasted.
You were there????!!! One of my first meter base installs after finishing tech school course.
 
  #9  
Old 12-06-13, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USa
Posts: 2
Thank you all this was very helpful!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'