Forgot to debur conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-13, 05:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Forgot to debur conduit

In my ignorance, I forgot to debur a 3' piece of 1/2" emt I used to extend a circuit. After cutting with a hacksaw (one side of the pipe is the cut from the factory) I didnt think to much and only gave it a twist or two in a 4-1 battery brush and put it into service.

Is that bad practice?

I was kind of thinking in the back of my head that the set screw connector covers the cut end of the pipe... but thats not the case right?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-01-13, 06:27 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Yeah, you should debur with a proper tool, not so much to allow fitment to the couplings but to keep the burrs from chafing the wires when you start pulling them, since the burrs are pointed in and not out.
 
  #3  
Old 12-01-13, 06:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Would you redo it if you were me?
Does the cut end from the factory need deburring?

Its 3 feet of wire. straight run, no bends. I pushed the wires in by hand and they slid right in. Boxes (screwed into masonary) and set screw connectors were in place. I sure hate to break it all down for this.
 
  #4  
Old 12-01-13, 07:15 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Probably not. If you got the wires in without chafing them, and you chased it first with a wire brush, you may have dodged the bullet. On a commercial jobsite, you would be redoing it, though, along with 3 before that junction just to make sure you didn't do it in other places
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-13, 03:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Does the factory cut side need deburring as well?

I used a hacksaw, but on a basic tubing cutter, is the triangular metal piece that folds into the handle a deburrer?

Would a cheap deburring tool with the small blade you use on copper suffice for emt?
 

Last edited by zmike; 12-02-13 at 05:26 AM.
  #6  
Old 12-02-13, 05:44 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
Many in the trade just use the nose of the pliers or the handles of channel lock pliers on larger sizes. You just need to knock down any sharp edges.

I always do both ends of the conduit, factory or not.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'