3000watts 14/2wire, 240volts, 15amp breaker...???

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-13, 01:53 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
3000watts 14/2wire, 240volts, 15amp breaker...???

Seems the 2 750watts heaters I had turned out to be 1000watts each.

Brings my line up to 3000 watts, instead of 2500.

As I understand it, puts me 120 watts over the limit.(according to https://www.icmag.com/modules/Tutori...afety/1655.htm)

Is such an overage a deal breaker...???

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-02-13, 01:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
1000+1000=2000 so why do you say 3000? Reread your other post and don't see mention of a third load. Are there fans?
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-13, 02:30 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have two other, 500 watt heaters on the same line. My mistake in not putting that in the post, sorry.
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-13, 04:45 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 5,006
Received 89 Votes on 84 Posts
1000 watts divided by 240 volts equals 4.1 amps no problem for 14/2. A 15 amp circuit should only be loaded to 80% or 12 amps.
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-13, 05:10 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The total wattage on that line is 3000, or 12.5 amps.
 
  #6  
Old 12-02-13, 05:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Suggest a new 15a feed to the heater easiest to run a cable to.
 
  #7  
Old 12-02-13, 05:44 PM
canuk's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 293
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is such an overage a deal breaker...???
Yep --- afraid it is.

The heaters are considered *continious* load , therefore both the conductors and breaker would have to be sized to accomodate 125% rating.

3000W /240 = 12.5 amps X 1.25 = 15.625 amps

which means 12/2 cable throughout the circuit and a 20 amp double pole common trip breaker.
 
  #8  
Old 12-02-13, 06:10 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, thanks guys. I'll take one 500 off that line and put it on another line, that have 12 gauge to start with.

I was certain I had bought 12/2.... somehow ended up with 14/2 and didn't notice it until I had completed the first line.

Oh well...

Thanks again.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: