Wiring 6 transformers 11v primarys to 220vac

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-13, 02:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Wiring 6 transformers 11v primarys to 220vac

Name:  transformers.jpg
Views: 511
Size:  14.8 KB

is this the rightway to wire these up?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-02-13, 04:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
If the green wire is really a neutral not a ground and is gray or white, yes but you have 240v if this is U.S. and the result will be 120 on each primary. You must use either a 2-pole breaker or two handle tied single pole breaker if this is hard wired. If it is plug in you must run a 120/240 feed from a 2-pole breaker to an appropriate 4-wire receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-13, 05:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply. currently i have a 3 wire 12/2 cable. two 12awg hot wires with ground. i need to upgrade to a 12/3 with ground. I was hoping this would work. This is the only way i knew to do it....
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-13, 05:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
No.... currently you have a two wire cable with ground. In that application you cannot use the bare ground wire as a neutral.

When you upgrade to a three wire cable. You'll have half the transformers on red and white and the other half of the transformers on black and white. The bare wire will be a true ground for them.
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-13, 05:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
this isnt hard wired to the breaker box. its a 12/2 with ground SOOW cable into a 220v receptacle
 
  #6  
Old 12-02-13, 05:58 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
its a 12/2 with ground SOOW cable into a 220v receptacle
Actually that would be 12-3 SOOW* and you need 12-4 SOOW on a 120/240 4 wire circuit. Assuming 30 amps or less you need a NEMA 14-30 receptacle and plug.

*Technically no ground, just conductors. one of which is green insulated in equipment cords such as SOOW. Feeder cable such as NM-b does have a ground but it is not counted.
 
  #7  
Old 12-02-13, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
thanks for the help guys...
 
  #8  
Old 12-02-13, 06:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
So what are you planing to do?
 
  #9  
Old 12-02-13, 06:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 5
this is going to be a 200 amp power supply for a solid state ampifier for ham radio. I am a ham operator.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'