Framing around electric panel and window

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-03-13, 10:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
Framing around electric panel and window

I'm getting ready to start framing my basement to put up drywall. I have most things planned out already, but I'm not sure how to handle my electric panel/window. I've attached a picture with the location of the electric panel and window. I was hoping to leave the panel in its current place with an access door. Does anyone have a recommendation on how I should frame around these?

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 3072
Size:  22.1 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-03-13, 02:08 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,233
Welcome to the forums!

You could frame it out and install a cabinet like door to hide the panel.
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-13, 02:27 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Once your wall is framed about 1" from the cmu, and a finish (sheetrock) is applied it will just about be flush with your box cover. Can't really see the right side of the panel to see how framing would affect that edge.
 
  #4  
Old 12-03-13, 05:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 26
Thanks for the responses. If the sheetrock is flush with the panel that would be perfect. Here is a picture of the other side of the panel.

Name:  panel.jpg
Views: 2462
Size:  24.1 KB

Do you think the wires coming out of the left side of the panel will cause me any problems for framing the window?
 
  #5  
Old 12-03-13, 06:33 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Maybe. You might be able to relocate them to the top. I hate when people come out of the side of a panel!
 
  #6  
Old 12-03-13, 07:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,667
Post moved to Electrical.
 
  #7  
Old 12-03-13, 07:15 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
Just notch the back of the stud and place it over the cables. No need to relocate them.

You will need to maintain a refrigerator sized box area in front of the panel as a work zone.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'