Running ethernet beside a hot air duct

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-05-13, 11:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Running ethernet beside a hot air duct

I have a run of ethernet that I am thinking about doing where the easiest method would be to run it beside (not inside) a hot air duct that runs from my furnace to an in-floor register. This duct should never get much above the environmental air temperature, so I don't think that heat will be a problem. However there is a small amount of current running through ethernet, so I was concerned about any potential electrical issues.

So the question is: can I safely run an ethernet cable beside a hot air duct?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-05-13, 12:13 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

That should be OK. I would avoid having it be in direct contact, not because of electrical issues but to lessen the chance for damage to the cable from sharp edged and/or vibration.
 
  #3  
Old 12-05-13, 12:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Okay cool. I figured it would likely be okay, but better to ask and find out for sure. I will be trying to keep it away from the duct as much as possible, but it is a LONG fish, so that might not be possible. Appreciate the information.
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-13, 01:10 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I will be trying to keep it away from the duct as much as possible, but it is a LONG fish, so that might not be possible.
Good luck. I'm curious though: Do you have enough space to fish in a length of "Smurf tube" and use that to protect your Cat 6 or coax?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'