Wiring a Bathroom - Will This Diagram Work?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-06-13, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a Bathroom - Will This Diagram Work?

First time post! It looks like there is a lot of great info in this site so hopefully someone can help me out. I am wiring a bathroom that I am renovating. I am going to get a new breaker switch added and run the 14/2 cable right to the bathroom. There is no electrical in there now so I have a fresh start. Please see my diagram and let me know if it will work, or if you notice any way I can make it more efficient. I've done a lot of wiring in the past, but always check each new project to make sure all is well.

Sorry if it is a bit hard to read. Note the addition of 14/3 in the middle and my labels of "r" for red ("w" white and "b" black).

Note that I did not add grounds in the diagram. I know how to wire grounds.

Thanks in advance for the help!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-06-13, 08:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hope the image is clear enough. I'm thinking the plan is to run 14/2 to two GGCI's then to two lights (introducing 14/3 for the lights and switch), power going past the two lights to the switch that will control just those two lights. Power going to two additional switches, which will control a (switch 1) fan and (switch 2) two lights each.
 
  #3  
Old 12-06-13, 08:47 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
The NEC requires this to be a 20 amp circuit and I'd think the CEC would too.
 
  #4  
Old 12-06-13, 09:35 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The NEC requires this to be a 20 amp circuit and I'd think the CEC would too.
Not only that, the CEC requires 20A devices. So, 20A breakers, 12-2 and 12-3 wiring, and 20A receptacles.

Mike, the circuitry you've drawn won't work. For one thing, you're showing the second GFCI getting its line feed from the LOAD terminals on the first GFCI.

You'll need to check with the CEC, but under the NEC you would need two circuits to do this. Both could be 20A circuits, one to each bathroom, feeding the GFCI and coming off its LINE terminals for lights and fans and off its LOAD terminals for any additional receptacles. All #12 wire.

Alternatively, one could be a 20A circuits feeding a GFCI receptacle at the first location and coming off the LOAD terminals to feed all additional receptacles, including those in the second bathroom. All 12-2 wire on this one. The second circuit could be a 15A circuit with #14 wire that would frrd all the lights and fans in both rooms.

Basically, it's just a call.
 
  #5  
Old 12-06-13, 11:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the input so far guys, much appreciated!

20 amp switch is no problem. I don't have one in the breaker box yet so that is actually what I was planning on having installed.

It is actually one bathroom all of this wiring is for.

If it is only an issue with the GFCI wiring, can someone correct that for me so the rest of the diagram will work? GFCI have always been a bit confusing to me.
 
  #6  
Old 12-06-13, 11:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I did a bit more research. So for the GFCI wiring, since it isn't feeding any additional outlets I would just wire using the LINE then, right?

Is the rest of the diagram OK?
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-13, 11:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Updated Diagram Based on Comments

How does the updated diagram fair?
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 12-06-13, 01:35 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,042
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
20 amp switch is no problem. I don't have one in the breaker box yet so that is actually what I was planning on having installed.
That would be 20 amp circuit breaker, not a switch.

When you wrote this:

I'm thinking the plan is to run 14/2 to two GGCI's then to two lights (introducing 14/3 for the lights and switch), power going past the two lights to the switch that will control just those two lights.
I just assumed you were planning on a 15 amp circuit.
 
  #9  
Old 12-06-13, 02:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, sorry 20 amp circuit breaker, had too many words in my mind at once.

Is it looking OK then?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: