Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Wired 3 & 4-way switches. Works but 2 lights are at half power.

Wired 3 & 4-way switches. Works but 2 lights are at half power.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-13, 10:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Wired 3 & 4-way switches. Works but 2 lights are at half power.

Hi, I need help. I've researched my wiring problem and figure I must have it wired serial when it should be parallel and think the problem is at light #2 with the incoming power. I don't know what I did wrong or how to fix it. Light #1 and light #2 are very dim. Any help is greatly appreciated. Here is a diagram of what I have:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...8&l=02f828f010
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-13, 10:51 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
Welcome to the forums.

When you have a three way or four way system setup..... all the lights must come from the same end. You can't connect lights to the circuit at different points.

We can correct your illustration but that doesn't help you running wires.
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-13, 10:51 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Sorry but your wiring isn't even close.

Name:  2_3wayX2_4way.jpg
Views: 675
Size:  15.3 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 12-08-13 at 12:32 PM.
  #4  
Old 12-08-13, 10:52 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
You have a few things going wrong here:

The white from light 2 to S1 should be on the common terminal.
The white between S3 and Light 3 should go to one of the travelers of S4
Make sure all the whites going between all the switches are colored black.


The big one:
You can't have lights on both ends of the 3way/4way switches unless you do some non-standard wiring, which you don't have enough wires anyway. You need to run a 2 wire cable between light 3 and light 2 (or light 1). Wires between S3/S4 and light 3 should go away.

Black from S4 to light 2 needs to be connected to the common screw of S4.

Name:  New diagram.jpg
Views: 510
Size:  17.4 KB

** Note: PJ's and my diagrams are similar but are just different ways to do it.
 
  #5  
Old 12-08-13, 10:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks for the help. Guess I'll start over.
 
  #6  
Old 12-08-13, 10:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Smile

Thanks Toyln. That's easier than totally starting over.
 
  #7  
Old 12-08-13, 11:32 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
See my revised diagram. A bit crude but only requires adding one cable. but Tolyn's is better.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'