100- Amp Dual Panel Meter Box

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-10-13, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
100- Amp Dual Panel Meter Box

Anybody know where to get a decent priced dual meter box for a PUD that is similar to this? So far the one I found is 400.00!



The clips are bad inside this one so we have to replace the whole meter! ARGH.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-13, 12:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Two meter cans and a trough? Trough at top feeding drop to both.
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-13, 05:42 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
I did do a google search for "duel meter socket" and found this: Eaton 125-Amp Dual Ring Meter Socket-1MP2122R at The Home Depot

This might be better for you as the other one is underground only: Shop Milbank 400-Amp Ringless Single Phase (120/240) Meter Socket at Lowes.com You will just need to add some outdoor disconnects.

Square D by Schneider Electric 2 Gang 100 Amp HCP Meter Socket-1009693 at The Home Depot

Square D by Schneider Electric 100 Amp 2 Position Ringless Meter Socket-UHT2R1421C at The Home Depot

You will need to check to make sure your power company apporves this equipment as some require bypass handles.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 12-10-13 at 06:00 PM.
  #4  
Old 12-10-13, 06:20 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
Anybody know where to get a decent priced dual meter box for a PUD that is similar to this?
You need to tell us the desired amperage rating of the whole unit and then the amperage rating per position. Also, the conduit and wire size up the riser would also be helpful because you'll need to buy a hub too. I am assuming this is just single phase and the two switches below are just 100 amps each, but we need to know for sure. I wouldn't rcommend replacing the 2 gang meter socket without replacing the two switches at the same time.

Don't forget, the power company may be your best source of information because anything you buy will have to be approved by them anyway.
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-13, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
100amp per position, called the power company, they said they don't have anything to do with it lol. No help at all.
 
  #6  
Old 12-12-13, 06:35 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
Tolyn gave you two good choices.
 
  #7  
Old 12-12-13, 08:28 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
called the power company, they said they don't have anything to do with it lol. No help at all.
Call them back and ask them what are their meter socket requirements for a residential service. (minimum amps and bypass requirements)
 
  #8  
Old 12-12-13, 08:45 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I would take this as the perfect opportunity to upgrade to 200A.
 
  #9  
Old 12-13-13, 06:53 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
called the power company, they said they don't have anything to do with it
I have run into this before in small rural municipalities with their own not-for-profit public works, they really don't care as long as their meter fits and they can bill the customer. Most power companys, however, will have an approved list and some are quite extensive.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes