Electrical outlet box for doorbell chime?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-13, 07:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 377
Electrical outlet box for doorbell chime?

Is there such a thing? I know I don't have to do this, but I'd like to put in an electrical box behind the drywall for a doorbell chime. The chime I have is actually very small. In fact, it is smaller than a standard-sized single gang electrical box. Is there such a thing as a half-sized or smaller type of electrical box?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-13, 08:06 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
Low voltage wiring does not require a box, so in most cases we will not use one. The only thing smaller than a single gang box is a octagon box (8B) or a 4x4" box with a square to round mud ring.
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-13, 08:07 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You can usually use a 4x4 box and plaster ring for a single receptacle/switch, giving adequate space for the transformer inside the 4x4 and a smaller finished opening. Option?

Scott types faster than me.
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-13, 03:01 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,059
Most of the time the doorbell transformer is placed in an out of the way place (basement, attic, garage, closet). A 4x4 box is used with a blank cover plate. The transformer is mounted in one of the knockouts. This keeps the 120v in the box and the low voltage outside the box.

Something like this:


(Though the GFI receptacle is not required)
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-13, 03:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 377
Hi guys. I already have my transformer set up in the attic in a configuration similar to the picture that Zorfdt posted.

What I am asking about is if there is such a thing as a tiny half sized electrical box. This is for a doorbell chime going above the front door not for a doorbell transformer.
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-13, 03:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
No, there is not other what I posted earlier.
 
  #7  
Old 12-15-13, 04:02 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
The wiring is done in the chime itself, no box needed.
 
  #8  
Old 12-16-13, 03:11 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
If you really want it on a box for whatever reason, you could take a standard box and put a cover on it with a 1/2" hole in the middle for wires to run through. Put a grommet in the hole to protect the wires. You will have to drill and tap custom holes to mount your tiny chime though.
Low voltage does not require boxes so you can do almost anything you can come up with to box it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'