Testing lamp with multimeter

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-15-13, 09:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
Testing lamp with multimeter

Before I go sticking things where i am not supposed to. I can test voltage at a light fixture with a multimeter by placing one probe on the threads of the lamp base (neutral) and the other on the tab in the middle (hot). Is that correct?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-15-13, 09:45 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
That is correct. Of course, lamp must be turned on.
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-13, 09:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
And I have to have a steady hand otherwise its like playing "Operator".... dead short instead of a buzzer.
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-13, 10:29 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Yup! You could just a continuity test from the socket to the plug. Turn switch on and set your meter to Ohms. Read from the wide prong on the plug to the screw shell (neutral) and the small prong to the center tab. If you get continuity everything should be OK.
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-13, 12:08 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,269
Yup! You could just a continuity test from the socket to the plug. Turn switch on and set your meter to Ohms. Read from the wide prong on the plug to the screw shell (neutral) and the small prong to the center tab. If you get continuity everything should be OK.
In the interest of safety, I have to add to the above "unplug the lamp first".
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-13, 12:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
" Unthread the lamp first" ?

JC-- why not use the lamp in the fixture as a "test-lamp"?; if there is a problem with the lamp holder socket ?
 
  #7  
Old 12-15-13, 02:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 365
JC-- why not use the lamp in the fixture as a "test-lamp"?; if there is a problem with the lamp holder socket ?
That would work to see if its working, but I want to get a voltage reading without having the remove the fixture. (ceiling mount not table lamp).
 
  #8  
Old 12-15-13, 02:42 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,350
Why are you concerned about the voltage? Are you having issues?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'