Wiring a half-hot outlet with 2-wire romex

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-13, 12:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Wiring a half-hot outlet with 2-wire romex

Is this possible? I installed a instant hot water tank under my kitchen sink. The existing dedicated 15 amp circuit for the garbage disposal is of coursed tied to a switch near the sink.

Power from the panel goes to the switch and then to the outlet via 2-wire romex. My problem is the 2-wire romex from the switch down to the outlet cannot be pulled out. I believe it is stapled to the studs on the way down. There is one turn on the way down to go through two studs, and without tearing up the wall, I'm not really sure whats going on. I'm thinking that even if I fish a new 3 wire down to the outlet, I won't have room with the existing 2 wire in the way.

Is there a safe way to keep the 2-wire and create a half-hot outlet?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-13, 01:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
If the power goes to the switch first the receptacle will always be controlled by the switch unless wiring changes are made and new cables are pulled.

Depending on the loads or the instructions you may need dedicated circuits for one or both appliances.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-13, 01:25 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Do you have access to the wall your sink is on from your basement or attic?
 
  #4  
Old 12-21-13, 12:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Thanks for the responses.

I don't have great access via the attic or basement. I opened up the wall under the sink, and found 1 staple holding the two-wire to the stud, and where it makes a turn through a stud. After removing the staple, I am still unable to pull the old wire out.

The remaining part of the wire is behind the dishwasher. No access to pull any more staples out. I tried to fish a coat hangar down, but I can't really see me getting through the stud without a 1 in a million shot. Is a store bought wire fisher easier to navigate? The turn through the stud is just barely big enough for another wire. Should I continue with this plan, or work on a new circuit and go through the basement. This would be much more of project in terms of fishing wire from the panel to the new outlet. I basically want to keep it as simple as possible.
 
  #5  
Old 12-21-13, 03:09 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I opened up the wall under the sink, and found 1 staple holding the two-wire to the stud, and where it makes a turn through a stud. After removing the staple, I am still unable to pull the old wire out.
That's because there should be at least one more staple holding that cable. It should be below the switch box.

The remaining part of the wire is behind the dishwasher. No access to pull any more staples out. I tried to fish a coat hangar down, but I can't really see me getting through the stud without a 1 in a million shot. Is a store bought wire fisher easier to navigate? The turn through the stud is just barely big enough for another wire. Should I continue with this plan, or work on a new circuit and go through the basement.
That's up to you. At this point you have three options that I can see:
  1. You can run a new circuit. As pcboss said,
    Originally Posted by pcboss
    Depending on the loads or the instructions you may need dedicated circuits for one or both appliances.
    If that's the case, this is your only safe option. If the circuit is heavy enough to support both loads and neither manufacturer specifies a dedicated circuit:
  2. You can access the other end of your existing cable to replace it with a piece of xx-3 cable by removing, and later replacing, the drywall behind the dishwasher; or
  3. You can access the other end of your existing cable to replace it with a piece of xx-3 cable by removing your existing switch box, and later replacing it with an old-work box.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes