Electrical problem in two rooms + hallway

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-19-13, 03:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Electrical problem in two rooms + hallway

House was built in 1979
Found the GFCI in the bathroom but resetting didn't do much. Tested the output and the top outlet would sometimes engage the black button and turn off the power until the red one was used to reset the line.

Problem is the hallway and two rooms do not have electricity however the hall room bathroom as well as one of the bathroom inside the room without electricity still has power. The breakers are working by testing if there is electrical output that tests for 100A. Changed the switches but that is kinda futile since there isn't any electrical output at all.

Went into the attic to try to find the junction box but couldn't find it
Not sure what to do
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-19-13, 04:28 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You say resetting the GFCI "didn't do much". It must either reset or not, and I am assuming it didn't reset. Are you using a multimeter to check for voltage? You mention output tests at 100A. Definitely not a measurement at a GFCI. You are looking for voltage, not amperage.

It is highly likely there are other GFCI's that you haven't located that have tripped. With that age on the house, they were put in probably in 1993 or so. You could have a GFCI in a garage, in a crawl space, or behind boxes in a storage room that have tripped, so it will be a search mission. There should not be any GFCI's in a daisy chain. One GFCI can protect the entire downstream receptacles. If you have more than one, you will experience false trips, and it will drive you bonkers.

What was the event that caused you to check the GFCI in the first place? There may be more possibilities, but we'll deal with the most obvious first. Let us know before we move on.
 
  #3  
Old 12-19-13, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Hmm during the reset the green light displayed on the GCFI blinked off and then on after the reset and I tested using a neon circuit tester. What I meant by not doing much was after reseting the GCFI the other rooms weren't affected and there was still a lack of electricity. I don't live at the house and there isn't any blueprints but the people that do live there say that that is the only one they've seen. I checked garage, kitchan and the additional bathroom for any but no luck. I heard that the cause of problem was due to water and since the GCFI was closest to the area that had no electricity I assumed that had blocked coverage for those parts. I'm not sure if the garage has electricity since there isn't any lightbulbs but the recliner for the garage door works.
http://i.imgur.com/9r7YtzU.png

No light in this case means: no electricity/light in both outlets and room light
 

Last edited by jdvjdv; 12-19-13 at 06:57 PM.
  #4  
Old 12-19-13, 06:11 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
House was built in 1979
Considering the house was built in 1979, I'd check the panel for a GFI breaker. If no GFI breaker, check any outside weatherproof outlets for a GFCI receptacle that may have tripped. When that house was built, GFCI protection wasn't required in kitchens, garages and unfinished basements. Typically, there would have been one GFI breaker supplying a circuit that fed the bathrooms and outside receptacles.
 
  #5  
Old 12-19-13, 06:47 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The drawing you linked to shows no lights in room 1, room 2 and the hallway. It does not show any receptacles without power.

Regular room lighting circuits should not be GFCI protected, even today. They are often on separate, lower amperage circuits from the receptacles.

I would make sure that the light fixtures in those spaces have new, good quality bulbs installed without any fingerprints or smudges on them. Then I would turn each single-pole 120V breaker in the panel fully off and back on.

If this doesn't get them working, post back to tell us what did happen and we can work from there.
 
  #6  
Old 12-19-13, 07:16 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
This might help with your troubleshooting process.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...ther-info.html
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-13, 11:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
No light in this case means: no electricity/light in both outlets and room light
None of the outlets work in the rooms that have the no light circle

A electrician came and looked around for 3 hours and couldn't figure it out. Replaced the GFCI as well. The circuits are good and the light bulbs are brand new when inserting them also made sure that they worked beforehand.
 
  #8  
Old 12-21-13, 08:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 138
Refresh my memory. Are they all on the same breaker? If so have you identified every working and non working load on that breaker? Have you redone all wire nut connections, preferably with new wire nuts? Have you moved all back stab connections if present to the screws? At some switches they may have made a splice by using a back stab and the associated screw. In those cases the connection must be changed to a pigtail to the switch screw only.

Last resort using a multimeter and deduction you can determine the first dead load and run a new cable to it. Old feed must be capped off.
 
  #9  
Old 12-21-13, 09:12 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
Three hours and found nothing.....

I was looking at your diagram. You need to mark on it what is not working. We can see your panel. We can see your dead lights out. That is forming a pattern. If you mark the dead receptacles it makes it easier for us to formulate a plan.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'