Motion Detector Light Switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-20-13, 03:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Question Motion Detector Light Switch

I am trying to install a motion detector light switch in my garage. The light in the garage can be turned on by a switch in the garage or a switch inside the house. The switch I am replacing in the garage has two red wires on one side and a white and a black wire on the other. The new motion switch has a black wire, a red wire, a blue wire and a green wire. I cannot figure out which connects to which. Help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-20-13, 03:35 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! You have one more location that this lighting is switched from, as you are describing a 4 way switch. Look for it and let us know that you have found it. You won't be able to connect the motion detector to a 4 way switch. You can install it after the switching, but the switching will need to be "on" all the time for the motion sensor to work.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-13, 03:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Thank you! I found a third switch that I did not know I had. That switch has a red, a black and a white wire. Can I install the motion switch there if I don't intend to use the other switches?
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-13, 04:43 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
You can install some motion detectors in place of a 3-way switch, if they're made to do that. You might need to replace all 3 switches to get it to work though. Or, as Chandler suggested, you can set the other two switches so that the detector works and leave them alone.

Best scenario, if both the line feed from the panel and the load feed for the lights come into one of the 3-way switch boxes, you can easily install any motion detector you want there.

Which box do you want to put it in?
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-13, 05:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Interesting post. I ran across this situation just last week. I installed three standard single pole motion sensors. You can parallel as many as you want in that situation BUT you must know exactly how the circuit is wired.

You have a single three wire cable at one end. That's good.
You have two three wire cables at your 4 way switch. Ok
What is at the other three way switch ?

You may not be able to just leave the other ones in the "on" position because you may not have a neutral where you want to put the single motion detector unless the motion detector doesn't require a neutral.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'