Is this acceptable?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-22-13, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Is this acceptable?

Trying to connect to panel in garage. Sheetrock in garage is 5/8's. I cannot find a 4 inch j box with 5/8 set back. J box and first extension ring get me flush with Sheetrock. Second extension ring used to come out of wall and into 3/4 conduit. I am running power to basement. Running romex from panel to j box then connect to THHN in conduit into basement. 9 total wires in conduit - 8 current carrying conductors and one ground wire. 4 circuits in basement - 3 20 amp, 1 15 amp. Suggestions welcomed.

Happy Holidays everyone.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-13, 05:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,589
You could bend an offset in the conduit to reach the second extension ring and then install the proper depth plaster ring.
 
  #3  
Old 12-22-13, 05:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
I thought the same thing as the Boss.

Name:  pipe.jpg
Views: 219
Size:  36.3 KB
 
  #4  
Old 12-22-13, 07:14 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada, SK
Posts: 576
If he is just using this as a junction box (no device installed), wouldn't a mud ring just make it more difficult to work inside of the box in the future?
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-13, 07:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,182
A two gang mud ring would be the best choice.
 
  #6  
Old 12-22-13, 07:53 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,284
Just as a note most of the NM connectors, like the ones you have used, are rated for two cables each.

BTW - Welcome to the forums!
 
  #7  
Old 12-22-13, 08:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks everyone. I was reading 314.22 and it is vague about the number of extensions rings that can be used. It doesn't say I can't add two rings to one box. I imagine the conductors have to extend 6 inches out of second ring as if a device were attached? To answer Mr. Awesome - it's just a j box, no devices.
 
  #8  
Old 12-22-13, 09:40 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
To answer Mr. Awesome - it's just a j box, no devices.
Then you don't have to install a mud ring. You can install a 1900 blank on the first extension ting if you want to.

If you'd rather install a mud ring and a finish blank cover, you can use a flat (no rise) mud ring.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes