Electric co added a voltage meter to my meter base?


  #1  
Old 12-26-13, 08:34 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric co added a voltage meter to my meter base?

Why did my electric co put a voltage meter inside my meter housing. I saw a red wire hanging out of the box and called the office. They came out a couple of days later and opened the box and removed a small box that they had hidden inside. What was the purpose of the "voltage meter"? The tech wrote some notes form the devise and removed it at that time. What are these used for? thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-26-13, 08:39 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Probably something that was measuring and recording voltage fluctuations. Has anyone in the area noticed any problems like lights flickering or dimming?
 
  #3  
Old 12-26-13, 09:03 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The only difference from my house and the rest of em in my neighborhood is that I have underground service and a transformer in a box located about a 100 yds from my house. The power had been going off and on a couple of months ago at times. Everything is a conspiracy to me; anyways and I assumed they are watching to see if I am trying to circumvent their meter??
 
  #4  
Old 12-26-13, 09:50 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Nope...they probably were just trying to find the problem. It's much easier to catch someone working around the meter.
 
  #5  
Old 12-26-13, 10:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 68,820
Received 2,681 Votes on 2,433 Posts
They don't need to "watch" you. If the seal is broken there better be a good reason.
 
  #6  
Old 12-26-13, 11:41 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,364
Received 141 Votes on 125 Posts
They may have installed a recording meter to track voltage variations or outages.
 
  #7  
Old 12-26-13, 12:49 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i guess im paranoid

you know with all of the nsa spying and Obama care fraud... guess I was over reacting. He did mention recording voltages. thanks
 
  #8  
Old 12-26-13, 01:24 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,112
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they aren't watching you.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: