Adding A Second Light Switch


  #1  
Old 12-29-13, 07:00 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Adding A Second Light Switch

The attached picture is of the current setup in my basement. There are two flourescent lights controlled by one switch (switch 1). I would like to be able to control the lights independently of each other. I would like to add a switch on the other side of the room (switch 3) to control light 2 (leaving light 1 controlled by switch 1). I'm not sure the best way to go about this. There is a switch (switch 2) on the other side of the wall that controls the light in the adjacent room. I wasn't sure if I could use that to pull power from on a second switch or not.
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 12-29-13, 07:24 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,010
Received 211 Upvotes on 182 Posts
Yes you can do that. How you do it is going to depend on how the switches are wired. Tell us the colors and number of wires in the box and connected to the switch.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-13, 10:45 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Switch 1 and Switch 2 have the same wiring. They each have one black and one white on the right side and a bare copper wire on the left.
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-13, 11:19 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,010
Received 211 Upvotes on 182 Posts
That is a switch loop. You will need to find the source of the power at the fixture and run a new cable to the new switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: