How to twist multiple wires?

Old 01-02-14, 07:33 AM
How to twist multiple wires?

What is the best method for twisting 3, 4 or more #14's and #12's? Its very hard to work with for me, is there an easy method to do this?

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-14, 07:38 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I've always used the right size wire nut and then double checked to make sure all the wires are tight. The electricians should be along later with better insight .... I'm just a painter.

Last edited by pcboss; 01-02-14 at 08:55 AM. Reason: clarification
Old 01-02-14, 07:42 AM
Group Moderator
Twisting before putting the wires in a nut is not required.

Old 01-02-14, 07:44 AM
More basic is to twist or not to twist if using wire nuts. Some twist on connectors say no need to twist. Some pros say always twist. Basically good linesman pliers is one way to go. My way which the pros may object to is to twist as many as I can together easily then strip the remaining a little more and wrap them around the group of wires already twisted.

twisting 3, 4 or more #14's and #12's
Usually you would have only one wire size. Why two wire sizes?

Old 01-02-14, 07:51 AM
Usually you would have only one wire size. Why two wire sizes?
That's not what I meant, im not mixing gauges.

I probably should mention my asking is not to start a pretwist vs no pretwist wirenut debate.... theres plenty of those.

I just want to know the best method for twisting wires... I find it akward to twist them.

The yellow wire nuts are only for 2 wires
Off topic, but that's not true. Check your package of yellow nuts. Ideals I believe goes 3 or 4 #14's I think.... of topic though.

Old 01-02-14, 07:59 AM
Strip a full inch from the wire ends and use plies on the extreme ends to twist them together. Then use dikes (diagonal cutter) to snip off the extreme tips so the exposed ends are the right length for the wire nut.