Intalling 240V Dayton Single Phase Plenum Heater

Old 01-03-14, 07:45 AM
Intalling 240V Dayton Single Phase Plenum Heater

I'm installing a new heater in my shop. I am no electrician but i'm a do it yourself type of guy. I thought i could figure this thing out but i am stuck. the instructions for installation are horrible. Especially when you aren't an electrician.

Anyways, i have 240V single phase power that has a receptacle attached. I went to lowes and bought a plug for that receptacle rated for 250V/50 amps. i need to first make a cable to go from my heater to the receptacle. What gauge of wire should i use for about a 12 ft. run? and, does the wire need to be solid copper?

Second. once i make the cable.. it shows on my wiring diagram that i am supposed to connect one lead to J1 and one Lead to J2, and it has a connection for the ground elsewhere. How do i know which one to hook up to which?

Anything would be helpful here. I'm lost and would like to get this running soon. I'm tired of using my propane space heater and my shop smelling like propane.

Thanks guys, and girls

Sponsored Links
Old 01-03-14, 08:21 AM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums!

i need to first make a cable to go from my heater to the receptacle. What gauge of wire should i use for about a 12 ft. run? and, does the wire need to be solid copper?
How many watts is the heater?
Are you sure the heater is designed to be cord connected? All the ones I have wired are hard wired.
12' Is a long way to string a cord, Can you relocate the receptacle closer?

i have 240V single phase power that has a receptacle attached.
What is the size of wire and breaker feeding this receptacle?

Second. once i make the cable.. it shows on my wiring diagram that i am supposed to connect one lead to J1 and one Lead to J2, and it has a connection for the ground elsewhere. How do i know which one to hook up to which?
It doesn't matter with 240 volts.

Old 01-03-14, 08:29 AM