Wire Size Questions for Long Outdoor 10 amp Circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-03-14, 02:03 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wire Size Questions for Long Outdoor 10 amp Circuit

Need to run a 120V/10 amp circuit in 650' of underground conduit. A 5% voltage drop is fine. I am thinking #4 aluminum (USE ??) will do for the two hot conductors. Will #4 work for the neutral conductor as well? Finally, does the equipment ground conductor (assuming I need one) have to be #4 too?
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-14, 02:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
The smallest branch circuit size under the NEC is 15 amps. What are you trying to power? A 120 circuit would only need 1 hot.
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-14, 04:12 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good catch. I meant #4 for the one hot lead.

I need to power a small motor (< 5 amps).

Same questions then for a 15 amp circuit. #4 for the neutral? What size for the equipment ground conductor? Thanks, jr
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-14, 07:24 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
Using the calculator here: Voltage Drop Calculator

I calculate a VD of 3.75% with #8 copper or 3.88% with #6 aluminum. Your wire size you posted is WAY too big. (calculated using 5 amps)

The ground would also be required to be increased in size.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 01-06-14 at 07:53 PM.
  #5  
Old 01-06-14, 07:30 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
The voltage drop can be figured on the expected load, not necessarily the breaker size. Also be sure to watch whether the calculator asks for the one way or round trip circuit distance.
 
  #6  
Old 01-08-14, 01:30 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I add an outlet to the circuit, then wouldn't I need #4 for both the hot and neutral? Could the GEC be smaller?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: