240 ground question

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-04-14, 10:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 264
240 ground question

I don't know how I did not notice this before today, the appliance whip from the hot water tank is not directly grounded to the disconnect, at least not to the ground terminal inside the box.
It is screwed to the wire lock nut on the bottom of the box.

Is the box even grounded to the ground lug through the ceramic plate everything is mounted on?

When the plumber changed the hot water tank a few months ago, he must have left the wiring the way it was, it appears to have been this way for a very long time. Is there any reason this should stay like this?

There is also tape on one of the hot wires, so I would like to shorten the whip, removed the taped section of wire and connect the ground to the ground lug.
 

Last edited by Kiton; 01-04-14 at 11:45 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-04-14, 11:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
If there is a ground lug inside the box then it should be used.

In your picture I see the ground wire but it doesn't look like it goes into the whip that's pictured. Is your water heater connected with BX cable ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-14, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 264
The BX is used for the whip, the ground is doubled back through the locking connector and then wound around the BX.

The ground in the first picture is from the Line wires.
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-14, 12:30 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Both grounding conductors should be fed into the box. Inside, they should be bonded to each other and to the enclosure.
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-14, 03:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 264
Kiton
Is the box even grounded to the ground lug through the ceramic plate everything is mounted on?
Since I do not know if the case is bonded to the ground lug, through the ceramic plate (I bet it is, but I would have to remove the box from the wall to see),
Can I use the locking connector pigtailed to the line and load ground, secured to the ground lug?

Thanks guys,
 
  #6  
Old 01-04-14, 04:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
The label may tell you the purpose of that stud. I am not sure if it can be used for grounding. I would drill the case and install a ground bar or lug.
 
  #7  
Old 01-04-14, 04:55 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
I don't know how I did not notice this before today, the appliance whip from the hot water tank is not directly grounded to the disconnect, at least not to the ground terminal inside the box.
Can you show us a picture of the ground terminal in the box. The mounting stud that the "Line" ground is connected to is not an approved ground. Both "Line" and "Load" grounds need to be terminated on the ground terminal.
 
  #8  
Old 01-04-14, 06:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 264
This is the only label on the box.
I bet it is older than I am, I think I will just switch it out for a modern box and be done with her.

This should do the trick?

Siemens | 30 Amp General Duty Indoor Plug Fuse Safety Switch, 1 Phase, 3 Wire, 2 Pole With Solid Neutral | Home Depot Canada
 
  #9  
Old 01-04-14, 06:39 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
That sounds like a good idea.
 
  #10  
Old 01-04-14, 07:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 138
You probably don't need a fused disconnect if it is supplied by a 30 amp breaker or fuse. Just an unfused 30 or 60 amp A/C disconnect.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'