Electric fireplace on a switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-14, 04:27 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric fireplace on a switch

Is it ok to have an electrical fireplace on a dedicated 20 amp circuit controlled by a wall switch? The fireplace can't be turned on if the switch was accidentally flipped on because it requres a remoted control that turns it on and changes the settings from just a light to low power 600 watts to high power that is 1200 watts. I just thought putting it on a switch would be an extra safety step since a wall switch nest to the main light switches would have to be turned on to activate the receptacle and then the whole thing could be shut down when I leave the room. Any advice is appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 01-06-14, 05:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,223
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
No code issues with your plan.
 
  #3  
Old 01-07-14, 12:14 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I appreciate your help.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: