Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Splitting or adding new switches to existing lighting circuit

Splitting or adding new switches to existing lighting circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-12-14, 11:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Splitting or adding new switches to existing lighting circuit

Hi everybody, thanks in advance for the help I've been lurking around here and doing a lot of searches, tons of good info but haven't found the answer to this one problem I've been thinking about. We recently bought a house built in '71 with a large detached 2 car garage and shop that has a 50 amp sub panel supplying power to it. On that panel are the well pump, garage doors, outlets and overhead lighting. All of the overhead lights are fed from a single 15 amp circuit wired with 14-2 Romex switched by 2 3-way switches, one at the front roll up door and one at the side regular walk in door. The lights are 2x screw in sockets in the car parking area, 1 double socket flood light outside and 8 (!) 2x4' T12 40watt overhead fluorescent lights in the back shop area. My question is how can I spilt that overhead lighting circuit so that instead of all those lights being controlled by the 2 3-way switches instead have each area with it's own dedicated switch? The back shop is going to be divided and framed out into separate shop/gym/storage rooms so ideally I'd like to have 4 switches, 1 for the car area, 1 for 2 of the fluorescents in the storage room, 1 for the 2 fluorescents that will be in the gym and 1 for the 4 fluorescents that will be in the shop area. Sorry if this is a pretty basic question or it's been asked before, feel free to point me in the right direction to where I can find info to study up on my own.

Thanks!

"JR"
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-12-14, 01:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
I'd like to have 4 switches, 1 for the car area, 1 for 2 of the fluorescents in the storage room, 1 for the 2 fluorescents that will be in the gym and 1 for the 4 fluorescents that will be in the shop area.
Will all the switches be in the same box? Will any be 3-ways?
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-14, 02:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 33
No 3 ways, each in it's own box.
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-14, 04:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Run power to one switch. Connect the light to the other three way. To meet 2011 NEC cable between switches must be 4-conductor. If local code pre 2011 three conductor cable may be used between the switches.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 01-12-14 at 04:55 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'