Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

wiring a 3 way switch with multiple fixtures after making a minor mistake.

wiring a 3 way switch with multiple fixtures after making a minor mistake.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-14, 06:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
wiring a 3 way switch with multiple fixtures after making a minor mistake.

I say minor mistake while shaking my head. I am 25 and bought my first house in September. I tend to learn as I do, and normally have everything mapped out ahead of time. Haste = waste in this situation.
I posted a rather crude diagram, hope it makes sense. After making a big mistake and only having a minor grasp on 3 way circuits I made a hasty decision to update and change around the wiring in my basement. It is a walk out and I had only one switch at the top of the stairs to turn on all the lights. I added a few lights and wanted to update it so I did not have to leave a light on for those dark mornings. I need some help, I think I know what to do but want to know the best option for my situation. Thank you.

 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-14, 06:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Having a bit of trouble following your diagram. Would the one below work for your situation. If no tell us why it won't and we can show you another way.

Name:  q303266_295318_3_way_wiring_1.jpg
Views: 5546
Size:  42.7 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-13-14, 07:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
I have a two switches, one at the top of the stairs, the other at my back door (walk out basement). I ran 14/3 from every light (besides 2, but would be easy to add another wire, I had scrap wire and ran them as a leg.) Now I learn after flipping the switch( trips the breaker once i flip one and then flip the other), I have a series and need a parallel, I need to know the best way to wire this. I can make a better diagram tomorrow. Busy night over here.
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-14, 08:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
You had an existing single pole switch at the top of the stairs. You need to run a single three wire cable from that switch box directly to your new back door switch. That's it. It can't stop anywhere along the way. At the back door will be the switch at the end of the new three wire cable.

Any new lights you add should be connected directly to an existing light.

Once this is done the actual wiring is straight forward.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes