Electrical Conduit Questions


  #1  
Old 01-14-14, 05:24 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Electrical Conduit Questions

Can I run electrical conduit from the basement to the attic through the access panel near a shower?
 
  #2  
Old 01-14-14, 05:27 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! More info is good. What is the conduit for? Is it EMT, PVC? How "near" the shower.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-14, 05:58 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Well I was planning on a couple things.

The first conduit I was planning on PVC to run an ethernet cable and a rg-6 coax cable to the attic bedroom.

Future plan: The second conduit was going to be EMT to run new electric upstairs to the first outlet in the series of outlets to provide a safe ground from TV/satellite box.

The only interior wall I can find that will require no holes in the wall (only opening the access panel to the plumbing to the shower. I assume I can run them ~6 inches away from the actual plumbling. And the shower/bathroom was recently redone with waterproof rock.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-14, 06:08 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,350
Received 882 Upvotes on 745 Posts
Eithernet and coax are low voltage cables and pose no danger. You can run them without conduit if you want.
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-14, 06:39 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I plan on doing the conduit as it is only 1 floor and I dont want to keep accessi ng the wall if i need to run future ethernet or hdmi or whatever...

And if I want to run electrical as well to provide a grounded outlet upstairs, I would run a separate EMT conduit.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-14, 05:52 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,874
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
And if I want to run electrical as well to provide a grounded outlet upstairs, I would run a separate EMT conduit.
I wouldn't waste my time with conduit in a residential application unless this was outside, which it isn't. Just pull two 12-3 NM-B cables up there and be done with it. That'll provide you with up to 4 new 20 amp circuits if and when you need them.
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-14, 06:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,350
Received 882 Upvotes on 745 Posts
Adding a pull string with any cables you pull in will allow you to pull more in later. every time you pull a cable just add a string.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: