Portable generator to an socket outlet

Old 01-15-14, 12:07 PM
O
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Portable generator to an socket outlet

So I'm a high school student tasked with just building something. I decided to make a Stirling engine that will lead to a generator that will then lead to a socket outlet so you can plug in whatever you'd like. I've figured out that I can build the Stirling engine, and that I can then connect it to a generator, but what I'm curious about is if you could then connect the generator to the outlet. Would it just be a matter of getting a little power strip and wiring that to a wire coming from the generator? And if it's not likely that i would be able I would be able to get enough electricity from a Stirling engine to do anything like that, would it be possible to story the electricity that comes from it and then from that stored electricity go to an outlet? Any information/ideas at all about this little project would be appreciated. Thank you.

-Griff

Old 01-15-14, 12:33 PM
W
Received 65 Upvotes on 56 Posts
Generator Project

Will the generator be a DC generator or an AC generator?

Old 01-15-14, 03:53 PM
T
From the way he worded it, I think he wants to do 120V AC.

Which he can probably pull off by using the Stirling to run a small car alternator and inverter, but it will be limited to a couple hundred watts. I don't think he'd be able to achieve a stable enough speed or enough torque on the Stirling to maintain 60Hz output from a regular genny head.

If you go the alternator-inverter route, you can also add a small car battery to store power for use later.

Old 01-15-14, 04:48 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
A car alternator is basically AC output. They use to sell an adaptor so you could run 120 volt tools from your car alternator. I haven't seen them in years though so they may not be compatible with modern alternators.

Old 01-15-14, 05:55 PM
T