Wiring to a detached garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-17-14, 07:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring to a detached garage

I have Narax 6/3 on a 60 amp breaker off my main panel which is located in the basement, can I run that through the basement, exit above the seal plate into an LB, drop it into the ground and run it to the garage? If that cable is not long enough to reach can new cable be added at the LB out of the house?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-17-14, 08:08 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
What is the full description on the cable. Does it say NM-????
 
  #3  
Old 01-17-14, 08:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Narax 6/3 with ground type NM 600V E15510
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-14, 09:31 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
Narax 6/3 with ground type NM 600V E15510
Short answer is No. NM cable cannot be used outside or in damp or wet areas and underground conduit is classed as a wet area.

If that cable is not long enough to reach can new cable be added at the LB out of the house?
Although splicing in an LB is acceptable under some circumstances, I seriously doubt you would have enough room. However, you can run NM cable through your basement and exit the house into the back of a 60 amp 3R air conditioning disconnect and transition to conduit with separate THWN conductors for the conduit run to the garage. Pulling a cable through conduit is not prohibited by the NEC, but not a normally accepted practice either and is prohibited by some AHJs.
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-14, 06:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the response. Moving to another option, can I use 2-2-2-4 aluminum service cable to exit my breaker box run 50 feet through the basement, then thru 40 feet of conduit in the ground and into a 100 amp sub panel in the garage?
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-14, 07:10 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,955
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
What type of service cable? Some is not for underground usage.
 
  #7  
Old 01-18-14, 08:18 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,092
Received 29 Votes on 23 Posts
Moving to another option, can I use 2-2-2-4 aluminum service cable to exit my breaker box run 50 feet through the basement, then thru 40 feet of conduit in the ground and into a 100 amp sub panel in the garage?
That sounds like aluminum SER cable. SER cable cannot be used underground. If you're talking about URD quadplex (like mobile home feeder), it doesn't need to be in conduit underground, but can be although it's difficult to pull though conduit. The insulation is not rated to be run inside the envelope of your house so it cannot run from the service panel, just the outside and underground part of the run.
 
  #8  
Old 01-18-14, 11:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 235
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Detached Garage

You can run your 6/3 cable in the basement and then exit the building into the back of a 664RT Junction Box where you can splice to your underground run using 1"PVC conduit and #6THWN-CU and a #10 ground. At the garage you can have your disconnect or panel with MCB, (If you use a small panel you can backfeed a breaker to act as a main as long as you install a retaining clip to hold the breaker in place) on the interior or exterior and will need a ground rod and #6 GEC. If the PVC is subject to physical damage you can use SCH80 PVC otherwise SCH40 PVC labeled sunlight resistant. If the run to the garage is long I would suggest a GALV 90 at the end where you make the pull so you don't cut through the pipe with your pull line.
 
  #9  
Old 01-20-14, 06:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will this in effect provide 60 amp service to the garage and off that how many circuits can I have, knowing one will feed a 220 volt compressor that has a motor rated at 22 amps. The 6/3 cable off the main panel has a 60 amp breaker.
 
  #10  
Old 01-20-14, 07:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Will this in effect provide 60 amp service to the garage
Yes.
how many circuits can I have
As many as you want so long the total amps used at any time does not exceed ~50 amps. In a house with a 60 amp service it would not be unusual for the breakers to total 100 amps because the circuits are not likely to all be fully loaded at the same time.
 
  #11  
Old 01-22-14, 08:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How deep do I need to bury the conduit and can I run additional wires thru this same conduit? Previous owners have a dedicated line from main panel to pool which is currently in half inch conduit attached to the side of the house, can this be added to the run that I bury?
 
  #12  
Old 01-22-14, 09:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Minimum burial depth is 18" for schedule 40 PVC. Other wires from other circuits may be in the conduit as long as the insulation is rated greater then the highest voltage in the conduit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: