Smoke detector

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-17-14, 02:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mass
Posts: 310
Smoke detector

I have a basement , first and second floor. All the smoke detectors from basement 1st and second floor are interconnectected. I have a co2 in basement,1st and second floor. All the Co2s are interconnected with the other smoke decectors in the house except the basement CO2. The basemement CO2 near the boiler is by itself and not interconnected. Should it be?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-17-14, 05:33 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
All the Co2s are interconnected with the other smoke decectors in the house except the basement CO2. The basemement CO2 near the boiler is by itself and not interconnected. Should it be?
My opinion would be yes, but it's not covered by electrical codes, smoke and CO2 detectors are covered by building codes. Try checking with your local building department or fire marshall.
 
  #3  
Old 01-17-14, 05:50 PM
core's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,127
If your smokes and CO detectors are interconnected, how are you supposed to know whether you're supposed to be grabbing a fire extinguisher or shutting off the furnace? I would find that exceedingly annoying.

By the way, I doubt either of you have CO2 detectors in your houses.
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-14, 05:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mass
Posts: 310
Thanks just checked with fire and it's not required in basement. I'm gonna do it anyway
 
  #5  
Old 01-17-14, 06:29 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
By the way, I doubt either of you have CO2 detectors in your houses.
Dang Core! Good catch. I have two CO detectors.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'