Remodel - AFCI Requirement


  #1  
Old 01-23-14, 05:52 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Remodel - AFCI Requirement

Hello all, I was just reading a post about AFCI requirements and that brings up a couple of questions. I'll be remodeling the 2nd floor of my home for my younger brother to move into. I know I have to install AFCI breakers. I have a couple of questions;

1) Do the lighting circuits need to be AFCI protected? My guess is yes but I don't want to spend money unnecessarily if I don't have to.

2) I'll be installing a 60 amp sub-panel (same structure) to feed this floor. The 60 amp breaker will be in the main panel and fed to the lugs on the sub-panel. Does the 60 Amp breaker at the main have to be AFCI or just the individual breakers?

I checked with our code enforcement officer regarding codes and he said our town follows the NEC code only.

Thanks for your time.

Roger
 
  #2  
Old 01-23-14, 06:14 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I checked with our code enforcement officer regarding codes and he said our town follows the NEC code only.
What version of the NEC? Go back and ask that question because it's impossible to answer your question without knowing because the code changes and is updated every three years. I would expect the answer to be something like, 2002, 2005, 2008 or 2011.
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-14, 10:38 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
CasualJoe, Thanks for the quick response. I appreicate it.

I just double checked the email I received from him and he says the 2011 NEC codes.

Roger
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-14, 05:36 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Lighting is an outlet according to the definitions and would require AFCI protection. The feed to the panel does not need AFCI protection.

Don't forget the tamper resistant receptacles.
 
  #5  
Old 01-23-14, 08:09 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,870
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
Any 120 volt smoke detectors also are required to be AFCI protected.
 
  #6  
Old 01-24-14, 03:40 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 140
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
pcboss, Casualjoe - Thank you for your help. Roger
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: