Hooking up a dishwasher without a ground

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-14, 09:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 280
Hooking up a dishwasher without a ground

I got a new Bosch dishwasher. The old GE dishwasher had the whip with 2 wires go into a box connected to the dishwasher and it was grounded to the box on the dw.

The new dw has a cable that plugs into the back of the dw and a plastic electrical box. Obviously I can't ground to that and it says it the dw must be grounded.

Running a ground wire to the panel is not feasible (ripping walls, floors apart would be involved).

The whip to this plastic box is coming from a metal electrical box under the sink. Can I ground to that? The whip is armored cable and metal, so I'm not sure if that affects grounding.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-25-14, 09:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
If the metal box on the wall is not grounded there is nothing to ground to. What wiring method do you have?
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-14, 09:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 280
The box under the sink is fed by greeenfield. The whip going to the dw box will be greenfield as well.

The greenfield doesn't go all the way to the panel though. I see solid conduit come out of the panel.
 
  #4  
Old 01-25-14, 09:33 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
A metal conduit can serve as a ground. Since you have conduit you could pull a grounding conductor in.
 
  #5  
Old 01-25-14, 09:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 280
It is 3/8 armored cable with 2 12 awg wires in it. I have no idea where it snakes and turns. Unlikely anything can be pulled through it.
 
  #6  
Old 01-25-14, 09:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 280
I think it is going to come down to it not being grounded or spending a lot of $$$$ to get it grounded. If it isn't grounded, what can happen and how likely is it that that will happen?

I'll add the last dishwasher was there for 15 years without issue.

Would putting a GFCI on the circuit help?
 
  #7  
Old 01-25-14, 09:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
That is not Greenfield, it sounds like AC cable. If it has a bond strip it is already grounded if properly installed.
 
  #8  
Old 01-26-14, 06:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,114
Do you a meter? (analog is best ) Check between the hot black wire and the metal casing on the armored cable and see if you have 120 volts is so it is grounded.DW should be grounded!
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 01-26-14, 09:10 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
That is not the way to see if the cable is actually a grounding means. Even the AC without the bond strip will still show as grounded.
 
  #10  
Old 01-26-14, 03:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,114
I don't believe I have ever seen AC without a bond strip,but maybe it's me.
 
  #11  
Old 01-26-14, 04:56 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
Older AC did not have the bond strip.
 
  #12  
Old 01-26-14, 08:10 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
MC cable has no bonding strip and it looks like AC cable, but most MC cable has an insulated green ground wire.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'