Replace Neutral Bar

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-14, 09:41 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Replace Neutral Bar

Got a call Friday night where customer heard buzzing from his panel. Turns out the installer (which thankfully wasn't me) never tightened a few neutral terminations. Neutral bar is badly discolored and the screws are seized. It's a GE Powermark Gold 20/40 200A main breaker panel stuffed with minis. Anyone know where I can source a replacement neutral bar before I destroy a good panel just for the neutral bar?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-14, 10:59 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Does this help?

GE OEM Load Center Parts Program TLM612U2I would ask the local supply house that distributes GE load centers.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-14, 07:28 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
Anyone know where I can source a replacement neutral bar before I destroy a good panel just for the neutral bar?
Bad install. Unless this panel was purchased and installed in the last year, I seriously doubt you can get any replacement parts for it, but you could ask a GE distributor. I've wasted a lot of time on similar issues in the past. Even if this is a current production model, it is still sketchy whether you'll get one. The best thing to do is usually what you are trying to avoid, buy another panel for the part. Chances are pretty good that even if you can order the neutral bar, it'll cost nearly as much as a new panel.
 
  #4  
Old 07-31-14, 01:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
if this is the first panel box with the neutral bonded to the box; you could get a long ground bar with a large lug on the end and mount it to the metal box.
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-14, 01:37 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
A neutral bar cannot be mounted to the enclosure, only a ground bar. You cannot have neutral current flowing on the case creating a shock hazard.
 
  #6  
Old 07-31-14, 02:07 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 279
in florida,in the first disconnect,we must bond the neutral to the enclosure.

we bond the neutral to the enclosure at the meter base and in the first panelbox after it

all panels after the first one have a ground bar bonded to the enclosure and a neutral bar insulated from the enclosure.
 
  #7  
Old 07-31-14, 05:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
That's where it's done everywhere except the bond in the meter however, as pcboss stated, you can't have neutral current on the case.

I would just buy a neutral bar or 2 and mount them in the panel.
I have to do this all the time for generator installs where the main panel doesn't have any way to isolate the neutral.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes