Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Which brand/model 200 amp combo panel in CA for residential?

Which brand/model 200 amp combo panel in CA for residential?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-29-14, 08:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Which brand/model 200 amp combo panel in CA for residential?

I'm looking to upgrade my old 100amp service to 200amp. I've been told Square D QO is a good panel. At Home Depot I think I've only seen the Homeline series. Are those ok? I hear the Cutler-Hammer is also a good panel. I'm looking for a semi-flush (or capable) 20/40, preferrably with the meter socket at the top/center. I just read in CA it also has to be EUSERC certified. Do you guys have a specific brand/model you would recommend? Thanks in advance!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-29-14, 11:04 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,223
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Square D QO series is a good quality piece of equipment and comes standard with copper bussing. QO series breakers are liftime warranted. Square D Homeline is alright, but is only available with aluminum bussing and uses a slightly different circuit breaker. I think I'd check with the utility company to get a list of exactly what manufacturers and catalog numbers they approve. Not all EUSERC member utilities accept all EUSERC certified equipment.

Frequently Asked Questions
 
  #3  
Old 01-29-14, 11:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Joe!! Are the GE panels any good? Also, I have to have acfi's and there is some knob and tube in the house. Do I need a MOD3 breaker for this or anything special (besides getting rid of the k&t? lol).
 
  #4  
Old 01-29-14, 11:17 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,223
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
GE panels are OK, but I don't like them or GE in general. I'd rather use Siemens or Cutler-Hammer. Cutler-Hammer makes equivalents to Square D, the CH series with standard copper bus and lifetime warranted breakers as equivalent to Square D QO series and C-H BR series as equivalent to the Square D Homeline. That being said, I believe the C-H BR series is superior to Homeline because many of the BR panels are available with copper bussing where Homeline is aluminum bussing only. I do not like the way Square D conducts their business since being purchased by Schneider Electric, a French company, and cannot justify the heavy premium price they demand.

I have to have acfi's and there is some knob and tube in the house.
Does the AHJ require AFCI breakers on a service upgrade? If not, I wouldn't use them since you still have K&T wiring.
 
  #5  
Old 01-29-14, 11:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks! We're on the same page. I don't like GE either and Square D QO or CH were recommended.
 
  #6  
Old 01-29-14, 11:25 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,223
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
I don't like GE either
I have my own reasons on disliking GE, one of which was seeing a 225 amp GE panel that caught on fire with a relatively light load.
 
  #7  
Old 01-29-14, 01:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, the inspector has told me before that acfi's are required. Then I read something about using a MOD3 breaker when you have K&T. Or is the inspector going to make me replace the K&T?
 
  #8  
Old 01-29-14, 07:00 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,223
Received 38 Votes on 30 Posts
Yes, the inspector has told me before that acfi's are required. Then I read something about using a MOD3 breaker when you have K&T. Or is the inspector going to make me replace the K&T?
I am not familiar with the term Mod 3, where did you read about them? I don't think the inspector will make you replace the K&T wiring, but it would be a good goal to be working toward. You might find some peculiarities in the way the old K&T was installed that could cause you some problems with AFCI breakers. That is just my thought on that subject. You have to do what the inspector wants or what has been adopted by your AHJ.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: