Question about AWG and Current Limits

Old 01-29-14, 05:56 PM
Question Question about AWG and Current Limits

Hi DIYers,

I'm new to the electrical scene and had a few probably very basic questions about AWG and safety. From what I understand, the heat generated from copper wires is entirely resistive, so by P = I^2*R, there should be a maximum current for each wire gauge such that the heat generated per length causes the wire to melt and fail.

However, I am seeing some inconsistencies with how wires are being chosen for certain applications. For example, AWG tables state that maximum amps for 18 gauge chassis wiring is 32A and power transmission is 2.3A. An extension cord I have that is 18 gauge wire is max rated for 10A, while a portable space heater I have uses an 18 gauge power cord, but runs at 120V and 1500W, which by I = P/V is >10A.

The reason I ask is because I would like to find the correct gauge of extension cord to extend my space heater, but I am afraid 18 gauge is not enough, even though the power cord of the space heater is 18 gauge.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Rodger

Sponsored Links
Old 01-29-14, 06:08 PM
Welcome to the forums!

AWG tables state that maximum amps for 18 gauge chassis wiring is 32A and power transmission is 2.3A.
Besides the obvious question - "What's the source of those tables?" - the ratings for the conductors in extension cords are different. I'm not sure how your 18AWG extension cord got a rating of 10A. I wouldn't connect a 1500W continuous load with anything smaller than a cord with 12AWG conductors.

Here's a handy reference chart: Extension Cord Choices.

Old 01-29-14, 06:17 PM
Group Moderator
1500w /120v=12.5amps

Most 1500w electric heaters come with #16 HPN black rubber/neoprene cable which is heat resistant.

Old 01-29-14, 06:29 PM
Hi Nashkat,