New wirenuts on old connections

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-31-14, 04:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 281
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New wirenuts on old connections

Sometimes when I troubleshoot something I toss the old wirenuts and put on a new one on previously twisted wires. Then I got to thinking that this might not be a good idea without remaking the connection since the old wirenut "shapes" the wires to its contours and maybe the new nut would be as secure....

any opinions here?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-31-14, 04:34 PM
Mr.Awesome's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 592
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you can't tug it off, its got the grip it needs on the wire.
 
  #3  
Old 01-31-14, 04:49 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,955
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
I will use new wire nuts but do not redo the splice unless it is poorly made.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: