Electric Range

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-14, 10:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Electric Range

Currently I have a 10/3 wire running from the breaker box having a 50amp breaker running underneath the house. I was told this was a hazard. I want to run a 6/3 inside wire under the house but inside conduit pipe. My question is, will I be safe in disconnecting wire by wire in the panel once I turn off the breaker in the panel. Also I was told the 12/3 wire leading to the dryer with a 30 Amp breaker was wrong. The city inspector OK'd it back in 1990. Was he wrong or do I need a 10/3 for this?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-14, 10:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,050
6-3 copper minimum for a 50 amp 120/240 circuit. 10-3 minimum for a 30 amp 120/240 circuit. It is best to use individual conductors, THHN/THWN, in conduit. 6-3 would be a real chore to pull through conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-14, 10:26 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I want to run a 6/3 inside wire under the house but inside conduit pipe.
Why do you want to run conduit for this? Also, how much power does your range draw?
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-14, 07:30 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,282
You could take the 10/3 from the incorrect range circuit and use it for the dryer circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes