Electric Range

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-14, 10:08 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric Range

Currently I have a 10/3 wire running from the breaker box having a 50amp breaker running underneath the house. I was told this was a hazard. I want to run a 6/3 inside wire under the house but inside conduit pipe. My question is, will I be safe in disconnecting wire by wire in the panel once I turn off the breaker in the panel. Also I was told the 12/3 wire leading to the dryer with a 30 Amp breaker was wrong. The city inspector OK'd it back in 1990. Was he wrong or do I need a 10/3 for this?
 
  #2  
Old 02-01-14, 10:15 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
6-3 copper minimum for a 50 amp 120/240 circuit. 10-3 minimum for a 30 amp 120/240 circuit. It is best to use individual conductors, THHN/THWN, in conduit. 6-3 would be a real chore to pull through conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 02-01-14, 10:26 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I want to run a 6/3 inside wire under the house but inside conduit pipe.
Why do you want to run conduit for this? Also, how much power does your range draw?
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-14, 07:30 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,800
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
You could take the 10/3 from the incorrect range circuit and use it for the dryer circuit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: