Portable Generator Wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-03-14, 05:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Portable Generator Wiring help

i just wanted to know if this is the correct way to wire, power source is from a generator.
Name:  Portable Generator Wiring.jpg
Views: 1872
Size:  29.0 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-03-14, 07:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is this to be a separately derived system not a part of another system with a power source?
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-14, 08:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yup, the power source will only be the generator only.
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-14, 09:40 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
That should work then.

.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-14, 10:41 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You need a circuit breaker between the 30A inlet and the receptacle, which can be on no larger than a 20A circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-14, 06:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Breaker?

Wouldn't a breaker be unnecessary if there was a 20 amp breaker on the generator?
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-14, 07:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Wouldn't a breaker be unnecessary if there was a 20 amp breaker on the generator?
That is correct.

.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: