Portable Generator Wiring help


  #1  
Old 02-03-14, 05:39 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Portable Generator Wiring help

i just wanted to know if this is the correct way to wire, power source is from a generator.
Name:  Portable Generator Wiring.jpg
Views: 3202
Size:  29.0 KB
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-14, 07:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Is this to be a separately derived system not a part of another system with a power source?
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-14, 08:19 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yup, the power source will only be the generator only.
 
  #4  
Old 02-03-14, 09:40 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
That should work then.

.
 
  #5  
Old 02-03-14, 10:41 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You need a circuit breaker between the 30A inlet and the receptacle, which can be on no larger than a 20A circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 02-04-14, 06:55 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Breaker?

Wouldn't a breaker be unnecessary if there was a 20 amp breaker on the generator?
 
  #7  
Old 02-04-14, 07:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Wouldn't a breaker be unnecessary if there was a 20 amp breaker on the generator?
That is correct.

.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: